Sittercity Sign up

Sarah B. Care Companion in Weston, CT 06883

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

  • Northwestern University

    Northwestern University

Weston, CT

  • Age 40
  • 6 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Sarah’s Bio

I have always delighted in the elderly population but it was the years I cared for and loved my grandmother through the final years of her life (she passed away in 2001) that instilled in me a true appreciation of and respect for those in the later stages of life. The majority of my caregiving knowledge and experience was gained during the 5 years I worked for a wonderful, witty and wise woman in her 90s. We became fast friends and what began as a twice weekly short visit developed into a full time job wherein I became her ‘right hand woman’. I did anything that enabled her to live her last years as she wanted: comfortable in her own home, with her loyal dog by her side. My time with her taught me much- whether it was learning how to help her cope with dementia, gaining first hand tips from her stellar hospice team or being given the gift of hearing her life stories and memories- her lessons and her spirit are still very much alive with me today.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

6 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 3/26/2018

Availability

My availability is valid through 4/22/18

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
Jump to Top
Sarah B.
Sarah B.
Weston, CT 06883
40

years
of age

6

years experience

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

  • Northwestern University

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now