Sittercity home
Sonya J., Care Companion in Apopka, FL 32703 with 1 year paid experience

Sonya J. Care Companion in Apopka, FL 32703

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Apopka, FL (Apopka, FL • 17 miles away | will travel 10 mi)

1 year paid experience

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $11 per hour

Sonya’s Bio

CPR training
First aid training
Fire safety training
Online Training Courses – Aspire LMS for Elderly Care and Elderly with Dementia Care.

Previously, I worked as a Healthcare Assistant at a privately-owned care home in the Littleover Village of Derby where I specialised in residential care for elderly, dementia, physical disability and sensory impairment residents. The role itself involved toileting, dressing, food preparation and feeding also carrying out general tasks like house work, cleaning, laundry and offering support to residents and families a like. It was essential to tend to the physical, emotional, cultural and social needs of the clients using a person-centred approach. It was equally important to observe and promote the client’s choice, independence, privacy, dignity, fulfilment and other rights. My time in the care home was valuable and enjoyable as it gave me the opportunity to develop skills such as having a good telephone manor through my prompt and polite response to frequent use of the buzzers. Also having a cordial approach in the workplace and the ability to put clients at ease whatever their social or physical needs. It also taught me to be tactical and sensitive at all times whilst expressing confidentiality, diplomacy and empathy to residents as well as their families.


Age Specific Experience

1 year paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Pain Management

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 12/3/21

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
  • Spanish


Melyssa V. is a reference for Sonya J. Relationship: Former Employer
Dr. Heidi S. is a reference for Sonya J. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Sonya J.
Sonya J.
Apopka, FL 32703

years experience

Home Care Rates $11 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now