JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Carla L. Care Companion in Tampa, FL 33634

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Tampa, FL

  • Age 47
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $13 per hour

Carla’s Bio

Hello,
My name is Carla when my father was diagnosed with a crippling disease called IBM (Inclusive Body Myositis) in his forties we were devastated. We had never heard of the disease so we did not know what to expect. I was forced to take on the roll as a care giver. I did my research and jump in on a wing and a prayer. The disease disabled the use of his muscles. Your hands and legs eventually do not function. My daily routine would be to shop and prepare my father's meals for him. I did all his errands because he was unable to drive. I would give him showers and tidy his home when needed. At 83, he is permanently in a wheelchair. His level of care became too high for my skill level so he is now in a nursing home. Previously to taking care of my father, I worked as a Residential Counselor at Catholic Charities in New York caring for 9 residents in a home care facility. My job duties include administering their daily medication, supervising their chores/activities and participating in residential treatment planning.

I am in my late forties and having raised and still raising my children who are 22, 14, and 9 and now a new born grandson of only 3 months. I look forward to assisting other families with their care giver/companion needs. by attending to their loved ones needs while they are at work or balancing their lives. I can relate to trying to juggle work, family and fun. As a mother and grandmother, I understand the need to be able to work and feel comfortable knowing your loved one is with someone who is safe. I have been there and know that it is a big responsibility. I am an educated, responsible, outgoing, and caring individual capable of taking care of your loved one while keeping them safe. I speak fluent English. I am CPR and First Aid certified non-smoking drug free individual. My background and driving record is clean. I enjoy a healthy lifestyle with plenty movement and exercise. I enjoy helping people to the fullest and would love to have the opportunity to meet with you and your family and discuss your needs. Hopefully we are a good match and we can take this journey together to fulfill your goals together. Thank you.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

20 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 8/10/17

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

References

Karyne B. is a reference for Carla L. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Carla L.
Carla L.
Tampa, FL 33634
47

years
of age

20

years experience

Home Care Rates $13 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now