Sittercity home
Susan S., Care Companion in Iowa City, IA 52245 with 0 years paid experience

Susan S. Care Companion in Iowa City, IA 52245

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Iowa City, IA (Iowa City, IA • 1 mile away | will travel 30 mi)

  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $24 per hour

Susan’s Bio

I am an aunt to seven nieces and nephews, and babysat them/was responsible for them at various times in their lives. I was their parent-figure at times for an hour or two, for a weekend, and twice for a week. I have volunteered in elementary classrooms, and with WE Ride (Women Empowerment Riders). WE Ride encourages 7- to 16-year-old girls from under-resourced households to build confidence through learning biking skills. I'm also a neighbor to several kids 6 and under with whom I’ve developed relationships.

In addition, when my mother was aging, I was her primary companion for about six months. When she went into an assisted living home, I was her primary caregiver and companion, aside from those working at the assisted living home. I periodically gave her baths, helped her in and out of tubs, showered her, rubbed her feet, sang to and with her, walked with her, took her out for picnics and drives, played Scrabble with her, facilitated phone calls with family members, and in general tried to give her reasons to live. I also hired and communicated closely with a caregiver who spent a few hours/week with mom.

Additionally, I developed relationships with staff at the home, and with doctors, social workers and other healthcare providers. It was one of the most rewarding two years of my life.

(This is a partial list of my responsibilities, and does not include such tasks as finances and transport.)

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Toileting

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 10/19/20

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Susan S.
Susan S.
Iowa City, IA 52245
0

years experience

Home Care Rates $24 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now