JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Laurie L.

Care Companion in Downers Grove, IL 60515.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Downers Grove, IL

  • Age 55
  • 3 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Laurie’s Bio

My own Mother is suffering from Parkinson's which has digressed to cause her to be in a dementia state for about two years now. She has been well cared for in a nursing home for about 1 1/2 years now due to her mobility issue. Prior to that she was at home in my sister's house where we were able to meet all her needs. Additionally, my Grandmother who passed almost two years ago at the age of 94 was able to be at home at my sister's house and we worked together to make sure that her final years were happy and comfortable. I feel that the experience gained from having the privilege to care for family members during their later years has given me the understanding of issues that can arise and the empathy needed when caring for the elderly.
I already utilize a great deal of patience and caring in my chosen career of early childhood education and care in my licensed family child care home. My home has been filled with the children of many local families for over 15 years now. DCFS licensing requires background checks and CPR/First Aid training, so you can confirm my good standing as a caregiver with them using my child care license number.
Although I am licensed for up to 16 children (certain age restrictions apply), I currently have 7 full-time children and two "drop-in" children enrolled. With the full-time assistance of my husband for ten years and the part-time assistance of my daughter who attends college locally, it is a very manageable group size and we do not intent to add more that a few children in the future so that we can maintain the quality of care that we have been providing all along. I would be able to provide references who will be happy to talk to you about their experiences with me as a caregiver.
Due to the high costs involved with self-employment, i.e. health insurance, taxes, business expenses, I have decided to look into expanding the use of my care giving abilities to include opportunities to work at client's homes with seniors.
I am a high-energy middle-aged woman with a whole lot of patience and a loving, caring Christian attitude. Being responsible and reliable is a big part of my strong character. If I sound like the kind of person that you would like to have assist you with the care of your loved-ones, please call me on my cell at 630-696-5101 so we can arrange a visit. I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you about your caregiver needs and answer any questions you may have for me.


Age Specific Experience

3 years paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Available to start on 2/3/2014


My availability is valid through 3/3/14

  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings


Richelle S. is a reference for Laurie L. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Laurie L.
Laurie L.
Downers Grove, IL 60515

of age


years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • Motor Vehicle Records Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now