JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sandy S. Care Companion in Evanston, IL 60202. Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Evanston, IL

  • Age 57
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (1 review)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Sandy was a fantastic care giver for my mother who needed assistance with nearly everything. She has a gentle p...

- Sharon V.
Read all reviews

Home Care Rates $20 per hour
$150 per full day
$750 per week

Sandy’s Bio

Welcome!
If you are searching for someone to really care for and about  someone special, I'm your gal.
I have a deep respect for elders and their sensibilities and frailties. I moved to Evanston 35 years ago to care for my diabetic grandfather. In 2000 I took a longtime friend to New Zealand. She was 93.
Companionship and interaction are integral parts of my care plan.  I do not "watch" people.  I am an experienced, professional caregiver; certified nurse's assistant (CNA); reliable; hard working; flexible; and maintain a positive, 'can do' attitude.  I perform all the usual 'caregiver' duties including bathroom duties. 
I have always considered it a pleasure to visit the aged and infirm, and I know most of the difficulties and concerns with finding someone you can trust to be loving and reliable.  My sisters and I are doing everything we can to keep our own parents in their home out East.
I work hard to improve quality of life through patience, careful listening, and the use of activities to stimulate the mind and body as the client will tolerate.
You can expect me to work closely with your loved one(s), and as time permits to clean, launder, shop/cook.
My 2008 Camry Hybrid (insured) fits most wheel chairs and walkers and I myself like to go out and about town.
My forte is helping women, mostly seniors who need a companion/driver/aide/chef/housekeeper/etc. I like to stay busy, preferably with the client to improve or restore their sense of belonging in this world, even if it is just a drive to the lake or a walk around the block for some fresh air. Getting out of the house is especially important to most seniors.  They want to see what is going on in the world and feel a sense of belonging.  And though the client is always my first priority, the family is kept informed and involved as they require.
I am well traveled, educated, married (no children); a do-it-yourselfer.
Meals? FRESH! Meats, fish, poultry, lots of vegetables and fruits, various carbs; can prepare a week's worth of meals in a day.
Household repairs are another challenge I enjoy: Grampa was a carpenter and he taught me well.
I love animals, but no lions, tigers or bears if at all possible:)
Please, feel free to contact me to discuss your needs. I look forward to hearing from you.  Additional references are available upon request.
I come & go and will overnight when necessary, but do not perform long-term live in service.
Warm regards, Sandy

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Meal preparation
  • translation missing: en.profile.provider.search.companion_care.basic_care_experience.bathing

Availability & Job Preferences

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Sandy was a fantastic care giver for my mother who needed assistance with nearly everything. She has a gentle positivity that helped my mother see the brighter side of life. Sandy was meticulously detailed in tracking many doctor's appointments and wove fun into their outings. She encouraged our mother to embrace senior-appropriate exercise. Sandy made her happier than we had seen our mother in a very long time.

I recommend Sandy highly. A true gem and utmost professional.

- Sharon V.

Provider's Response

Thank you, Sharon, for your kind words.
Regards, Sandy

References

Janice O. is a reference for Sandy S.
Sharon V. is a reference for Sandy S.
Jump to Top