Sittercity home
Kari H., Care Companion in Joliet, IL 60431 with 3 years paid experience

Kari H. Care Companion in Joliet, IL 60431

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Joliet, IL (Joliet, IL • 6 miles away | will travel 20 mi)

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Kari’s Bio

My father and I were very close. He raised me alone and when I was 15, he was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. He became handicapped very quickly and I took care of him. I shopped and prepared meals, cleaned the house and took him to his doctor appointments and physical therapy. When I was 27 he was diagnosed with terminal cancer and I moved back in to take care of him. I helped lift him from bed in the morning, I helped get him into the shower and dressed and also with any bathroom incontinence. I washed and wrapped his chronic ischemic wounds and helped him take and keep track of his medications. As time went on his mental status declined and he sometimes became argumentative and very confused. I was his advocate with his doctors and got him into hospice care when the time came. He passed in April of 2017 and since then I have had an inclination towards helping the sick and elderly. On a relevant note, I have been a medical coder for six years and I believe my knowledge in surgery, diagnosis and human anatomy aided in my comfort, and ability to care for my father. I am married with no children and time on my hands, and I miss taking care of my Dad. I would love to brighten someone's day and be their companion, and help them, just like I did with Dad.


Age Specific Experience

3 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 5/5/19

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings


Marla D. is a reference for Kari H. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Kari H.
Kari H.
Joliet, IL 60431

years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

  • Basic background check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now