Sittercity home
Laurie S., Care Companion in Brockton, MA 02301 with 10 years paid experience

Laurie S. Care Companion in Brockton, MA 02301

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Brockton, MA (Brockton, MA • 14 miles away | will travel 15 mi)

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Laurie’s Bio

My first job at the age of 15 began at a nursing home. There I started off as a housekeeper. Giving me the opportunity to understand, communicate, assist and love the elderly. I spent many hours after work visiting patients knowing many had no family I tried to fill that lonely void listening to many stories, helping rearrange there living space, trying so hard to learn to knit (which I never got) and many other things. I loved being there so much I also picked up working in the kitchen until the age of 19. Then I had my son so I took a couple of years off to spend with him. When I was ready to go back to work I knew the atmosphere I needed to be in. So I began working in the kitchen at west acres nursing home as a hostess, visiting each patient daily gathering there food preferences for the day. There I also was a dietary aid, and cook. As time went on my fiance's grandmother needed a PCA. Knowing how hard it is to leave loved ones with strangers I decided to take on that role. Recently a family member moved in to provide 24 hr care for her. For now I've been working part time in the deli department at supermarket where I can still be the people person I am, and help others. I'm hoping to pick up a few days helping a family care for there loved one when they cannot. My goal is to not only do what I truly love. It's also to reassure a family that there loved one is treated as I would my own. And all is happy


Age Specific Experience

10 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • IV Therapy/Injections
  • Diabetic Care
  • Ostomy Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 6/20/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Laurie S.
Laurie S.
Brockton, MA 02301

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now