Sittercity Sign up
Doreen N., Care Companion in Greenfield, MA 01301 with 30 years paid experience

Doreen N. Care Companion in Greenfield, MA 01301

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Greenfield, MA

  • Age 59
  • 30 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Last week

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Doreen’s Bio

I became a elder care provider by accident. Many years ago I had a friend that had elderly parents. When he passed away I started looking in on them and providing companionship for them. Then my Mom got sick and I quickly realized how important providing support and care for both my Mom and Dad was. After my mom passed, my dad was my lonely, so my husband and I were his constant companion. As time went on I started looking in on friends parents, and neighborhood elders. Word spread quickly and while I lived in New York I was so busy with elder care that it became a full time job. One that I loved!
When my husband and I moved to MA I became a CNA/HHA, but working in Nursing Homes or for heath care agencies was not for me.
I want to spend as much time with a person as they need. I don't want to cut the cup of tea short or leave in the middle of a story just because an agency says I have to. So I went back to working on my own and doing what I love to do. If someone just needs a ride to a doctors appointment or maybe company for a trip to the grocery store I am the person for them. If they just want someone to make them lunch and have a conversation to break up the day that's me. I can and will help with meal prep and light house work, but companionship is my strong suit.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

30 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Shopping

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Management
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 11/9/2015

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/8/16

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English
Jump to Top
Doreen N.
Doreen N.
Greenfield, MA 01301
59

years
of age

30

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now