Sittercity Sign up
Christina K., Care Companion in Northville, MI 48168 with 9 years paid experience

Christina K. Care Companion in Northville, MI 48168

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Northville, MI

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Today

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

Christina’s Bio

I am a 47 year-old female. I have experience as a nanny, middle school teacher and personal 24/7 caregiver. Looking to provide care 2-3 day pet week (flexible).
Neighbors, friends, references and I describe myself as a passionate, dedicated and generous person. I take my responsiblies extremely serious. I am very personable and am told I have a great sense of humor. In addition, I also have to cats.
To start, I had taken on a job as a nanny during my college years. I actually worked for two sisters' children, alternating. I took care of two of the children as soon as they were born. The other 2 children were just 2 or 3 years older. I helped in every way possible just like their parents. I provided all care even through times of illnesses. I would be more than happy to probity more info.
During my teaching years, I was a Middle School Math teacher at St. Fabian in Farmington Hills. My responsibilities involved constant communication with students, parents and staff. I'd be more than happy to expand upon this experience as requested.
As a caregiver, I took care of my extraordinary friend and neighbor, Irene, after she had a stroke at the age of 71 in 2008. Prior to that event she worked 40 hours a week. From the minute she was finally able to call me after experiencing her stroke, I was by her side. She became my 'adopted' mom. I just could not imagine her children placing her in a facility because they had families, work commitments, ect. I offered to help, as a friend, and never addressed it as a financial opportunity. Irene tried to provide for both of our needs, throughout, and for that I am forever grateful.

I was with Irene 24/7 and even participated in all of the rehabilitation sessions so she knew she wasn't alone in her situation. I experienced such deviation when she passed in 2017 while holding her hand.
Irene's had recovered from the stroke about 80%. Her disabilities progressed a to the point that she needed about of 95% assistance in daily living due to RA. This includes transport from wheelchair to chair, car, and home seating, bathing, food, medical needs including wound care from many infections and administering IV needs. Attended all doctor appointments, there for all surgeries and procedures. My heart broke for her through all of her constant pain and medical situations.Our PCP admitted that, together with my dedication, Irene was able to stay with us for about 5 extra years. I do have several references that I can supply.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

9 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • IV Therapy/Injections
  • Ostomy Care

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 5/19/21

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Christina K.
Christina K.
Northville, MI 48168
9

years experience

Home Care Rates $15 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now