JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Luvonna W. Care Companion in Charlotte, NC 28269

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Charlotte, NC

  • Age 35
  • 2 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Home Care Rates $11 per hour

Luvonna’s Bio

My love for caring for others started before I could talk. My brother is 5 years older than me and has cerebral palsy. Before I was two I was feeding him, help change his diaper, help wash him in the bath...etc, although I wasn't very good at it because I was a baby myself, the nurturing instinct was definitely present. My brother was susceptible to seizures so growing up I have learned a lot about hospitals and how to take care of him medically at home. You learn that taking care of someone with any disorder is not a science and every medical situation is different. I learned to also be on my toes because you never know what you are going to be faced with, but you learn to push your fear and worry to the side and face things head on. Then after it's all said and done all my fears and emotions hit me like a ton of bricks, but I knew I was good at being my brother's keeper and I loved the joy he filled my life with so I decided to go to school for medical assistanting both front and back office and graduated in 2004 with my associates degree right before I gave birth to my son. In the same month my son was born my step mom was diagnosed with stage 4 melanoma. I moved in with my dad and took care of her till she passed 6 months after being diagnosed. Right before she passed my son's father had passed away as well, so now I had a 7 month old and I needed to find a job because it was just me now. The first job that paid well enough to take care of me and my son was at a car dealership, although it was not in my field it paid the bills and it turns out I was extremely good at it. I was there for almost 10 years and it was great. I had moved to Charlotte in 2015 where the car dealerships were fighting for me to work for them so naturally that's where I started working when I got here, although it wasn't for me. So my other half started working days and I needed to find something at night so I looked into home care. I found a job right away and got hired on my first interview. I work now with elderly, dementia and end of life clients and I love it I need a little bit more hours so I have my feelers out.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

2 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 3/18/19

  • Weekday Evenings

References

Wendy W. is a reference for Luvonna W. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Luvonna W.
Luvonna W.
Charlotte, NC 28269
35

years
of age

2

years experience

Home Care Rates $11 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now