Sittercity Sign up
Francie W., Care Companion in Durham, NC 27712 with 15 years paid experience

Francie W. Care Companion in Durham, NC 27712

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Durham, NC

  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Francie’s Bio

After working for several years for the Army National Guard as a data analyst for the 139 ROC (Rear Operation Command), I had the honor of caring for my grandparents in their last few years on earth. My grandmother had breast cancer, Parkinson's Disease and diabetes and my grandfather was blind and had Alzheimer's. I worked with a multidisciplinary team to care for the physical and emotional needs of my grandmother and grandfather to allow them to live her last few years in the comfort of their own home with love and dignity. After their passing, I was asked to care for a retired school teacher who wanted to remain in her home while dealing with a devastating diagnosis of metastatic breast cancer. I cared for her in her home for a year until her passing. After her passing, I had the honor of caring for a world renowned virologist and retired Duke Professor Emeritus of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology who had Alzheimer's. I have also cared for many others short term after surgery or families just wanting me to check in on their elderly loved ones once or twice a week. This was not my intended career path, but I love doing this work. I love the stories that each and every one shares with me, just listening to their incredibly fascinating and full lives. My care experience includes cooking, cleaning, laundry, running errands, bathing, dressing, insulin injections, medication management and companionship. I have two grown children and four grandchildren. My goal with each assignment is to provide care with compassion, patience and dignity.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

15 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Diabetic Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 4/25/20

  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekends Daytime
Jump to Top
Francie W.
Francie W.
Durham, NC 27712
15

years experience

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

  • Basic background check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now