Sittercity home
Laurie M., Care Companion in Franklin Park, NJ 08823 with 4 years paid experience

Laurie M. Care Companion in Franklin Park, NJ 08823

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Franklin Park, NJ (Franklin Park, NJ • 17 miles away | will travel 15 mi)

  • 4 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within four months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Laurie worked with us for 4 years from the time my daughter was 8 - 12. She picked her up from school, brought ...

- Mary S.
Read all reviews

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Laurie’s Bio

Most recently, 2018-2021, after successfully completing level 1 course requirements, I enjoyed working as a Christian Science Nurse in a local CS caregiving facility. I was trained in the art of caring for peoples with varying needs of support; with mobility(wheelchair chair, walkers), in personal hygiene care, and in helping to meet basic nutritional needs whilst lovingly respecting the voice of the individual I assisted, helping to maintain the individuals natural state of independence “normalcy” while believing in, witnessing, and expecting healing. Over these past 20 years I have also loved teaching Yoga, in numerous locations, studios, schools, corporate office, in health clubs, in homes, and in this past year, (only) on the zoom platform. In addition to teaching Yoga, and working as a childcare giver(see my bio and references also on Sittercity), I worked for a year as a companion/caregiver to a church friend in her home. With a great hunger and respect for continuing education I have been in school, on and off for these past 20+years, as a French Major with a religious minor, steadfastly living the minor. My academic practical experience includes, two French teaching internships, one at a middle school and the other at a community college. And my ongoing love both in and out of the classroom of spiritual/religious studies most notably includes a cherished living experience in Sri Mata Amritanandamayi’s ashram in Kerala, India. In my life before being granted the privilege of my most treasured and all important post of motherhood(I have two amazing young adult daughters, twins), I worked in the fashion industry living and traveling abroad for seven years, five of those years based in Paris France. I am planning on returning to school this fall and am currently looking for a place to be of maximum service, earning right livelihood, while I will be in school. I live with my beloved husband, two dogs, and a cat. I will receive my second moderna vaccination 4/23/21

Experience

Age Specific Experience

4 years paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Social activities
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 5/16/21

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • French

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Laurie worked with us for 4 years from the time my daughter was 8 - 12. She picked her up from school, brought her to multiple activities and helped with homework. Laure is a very caring person who I completely trust to keep my daughter well cared for and safe. She also made things fun and was always happy to play with her.
Our personal situation changed so we don’t need a sitter anymore. We will miss her terribly but she will be a wonderful aaawt to another family.

- Mary S.
5

Laurie is amazing!!!! I feel so blessed to have found her as a sitter for my baby. She is a loving, caring and gentle spirit and my son absolutely adores her. When I return to my baby after he has been with Laurie, he is smiling, happy and calm. I've not always had this experience with other sitters. I feel comfortable leaving him with her as I know she treats him as if he is her own...and gives him her undivided attention. She sings to him, feeds and nurtures him and I seriously cannot think of a better person to leave him with. (other that me of course):) She is quite gifted with children...

I would be happy to speak to anyone who is considering using Laurie and endorse her wholeheartedly as a babysitter.

- Kelly M.

References

Christine H. is a reference for Laurie M. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Laurie M.
Laurie M.
Franklin Park, NJ 08823
4

years experience

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

  • Enhanced background check

  • Motor vehicle records check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now