JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Julienne R.

Care Companion in Mahwah, NJ 07430.

Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Mahwah, NJ

  • Age 27
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Julienne’s Bio

Hi, I’m Julie! I am a recent graduate from the University of Delaware (2011), where I majored in biology and minored in psychology. Since graduating, I worked in an outpatient orthopedic physical therapy (for 9 months) and began my education toward a doctorate of physical therapy at Columbia University (the past 4 months). I’ve decided to pursue my original dream of teaching but I don't regret my time spent on PT because I've learned so much about caring for people, both in general and in a healthcare setting. I really enjoy working with and caring for seniors and have ample experience doing so!
My grandpa had Parkinson’s Disease for the last 3 years of his life. I was always very close with him and went over to his house to help him out a lot. I helped him get around the house, fed him, and did anything around the house that he needed me to. Most of the time we liked to watch TV together.
As a physical therapy aide, I have had a lot of experience working with and caring for seniors. I have worked with seniors who were both physically independent and those who could barely walk- even with a walker. I helped these patients into the clinic, guided them and helped them with their exercise routines, made them comfortable, and gave them the emotional support and motivation they needed to get through the rehabilitation process. I became close with a lot of the patients there and really enjoyed the time I spent working with them.
As a home health care aide (April-August 2011), I worked with a man who was paralyzed due to ALS. He breathed on a respirator and fed through a feeding tube. He spoke using a system involving only eye movements. I always worked with one other aide. In the morning, we woke him, bathed and groomed him, dressed him, fed him, and transferred him between the bed, wheelchair, shower, and LA-Z Boy throughout the process. At night, we watched TV together (usually jeopardy or the Mets) and then got him ready and into bed. Working with this man was a very special experience. Note: I am not a certified home health aide. I was trained to work with this man by the University of Delaware students who had been doing it before me (with a protocol created by the man himself, and his wife, Lynn).
As you can see, my experience working with seniors varies in its nature. If it sounds like I can help you at all, please feel free to message me back or call me on my on my cell phone. My number is (845) 406-2156. Thank you for reading and good luck finding what you’re looking for!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

1 year paid experience

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Meal preparation
  • translation missing: en.profile.provider.search.companion_care.basic_care_experience.bathing

Availability & Job Preferences

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/2/13

  • Weekday Early Morning
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)

References

Joanne W. is a reference for Julienne R.
Linda C. is a reference for Julienne R.
Jump to Top
Julienne R.
Julienne R.
Mahwah, NJ 07430
27

years
of age

1

years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now