Sittercity Sign up
Candice D., Care Companion in Henderson, NV 89015 with 3 years paid experience

Candice D. Care Companion in Henderson, NV 89015

Looking for full-time work as a care companion.

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Henderson, NV

  • Age 28
  • 3 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

Candice’s Bio

I have always loved working with seniors. My mom worked in Home Health Care when I was growing up so I was always around them. My first job was working for a company called "All Boxed Up", my job was to assist families in moving their loved ones from home into senior living facilities.At first it was hard work, heavy lifting and physically exhausting. As the weeks went on I started to realize how lonely seniors are. So instead of just "getting the job done", I was becoming more personal with them. I had some of the best conversations with them when I was finally open to it. I was no longer just a mover, I became a friend, a companion, someone to listen to their life stories, I made them matter and it meant the world. I went on to work at Brookdale Senior Living. I was a food server there. I got to spend a lot of my time getting to know everyone, I got to hear more stories and really felt like I was making a difference in their lives even just by serving their food. It was a fine dining experience and I got to participate in banquets. The day I will never forget was their mothers day banquet, seeing all the families and support everyone had was just beyond rewarding for the little job I had. From there I decided I wanted to go into home health care. I put in multiple applications and finally got my interview at Complete Home Health Care. I was in charge of three patients. I went to each house and adjusted my schedule to their needs.I completed tasks like meal prep, cleaning, grocery shopping, changing clothes, bathroom assistance, walking assistance inside and outside, prescription pickup, appointment caller, and I took out trash and kept yards tidy. I don't have years of experience in just care giving but I do have an appreciation for seniors and I love working with them. I really enjoy my one on ones where I can sit and watch their favorite show with them, get into deep conversations about their life, and even play their favorite games. I hope you will consider me for a caregiver, to me this isn't just a job, it;s a life and I have always enjoyed my life around seniors.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

3 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/9/19

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

References

Jacqueline G. is a reference for Candice D. Relationship: Co-worker
Jump to Top
Candice D.
Candice D.
Henderson, NV 89015
28

years
of age

3

years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now