JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Tammy K. - Almond Care Companion

Tammy K. Care Companion in Almond, NY 14804. Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Almond, NY

  • Age 52
  • 3 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Home Care Rates $14 per hour

Tammy’s Bio

I love Senior best friend is almost 88 years old. I'm 51 and have time on my hands until I find a job (hoping to get in at the University). I was a nursing student 30 years ago (didn't finish in that field) and have basic skills/knowledge/common sense to assist someone in their home. I can take a BP w/a cuff and stethoscope, take a pulse and record both w/accuracy. Part of my curriculum was spent at a VA Hospital, and prior to that, I was a hospital volunteer and a temp Physician's assistant.
I'm compassionate, patient and intuitive as to the needs of those who require assistance. My preference is to not get into a total care situation, but more of an assist. I don't mind preparing meals, doing laundry and minor housekeeping duties. While in college, I was a home health aide, working more or less as a companion evenings and nights and attending school during the day.
As I have a family, my preference is to work the hours that they aren't home ~ Mon. - Fri. 8am - 3pm. I do have to go home to feed my dog, roughly between noon and 1:30. Ideally, I'd only work 2-3 days/wk., allowing me time to take care of my own home.
I am available now through 12/20, and will have to play it by ear after the 3rd of January as I hope to have procured a job upon my return from a family vacation. If I've not, I should be able to continue providing home care.
I wish to work no more than 30 minutes from Almond, but will consider farther w/the hourly rate reflecting the distance.


Age Specific Experience

3 years paid experience with:

  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 12/20/13

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)


Margery B. is a reference for Tammy K. Relationship: Friend
Hazel B. is a reference for Tammy K. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top