Sittercity Sign up
Judy S., Care Companion in Bronx, NY 10463 with 2 years paid experience

Judy S. Care Companion in Bronx, NY 10463

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

Bronx, NY

  • Age 58
  • 2 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Judy’s Bio

My name is Judy and I live in the Riverdale section of the Bronx. I served as a caregiver to both of my parents for 20+ years before they died. My mother had severe COPD and Alzheimer's/Dementia and my father was severely hearing impaired. Dealing with an elderly parent is not only time consuming, it is emotionally draining. My goal is to provide you with relief from your concerns about your parents daily lives so that when you interact with them, your stress is relieved (although it can never be totally eradicated) and you're able to enjoy your time with them. I understand both the physical and emotional concerns of the elderly and am committed to caring for them with patience, concern, compassion and most importantly, dignity and respect.

Finding a companion is a matter of match making. When I meet a client, I look to see what their meaningful activities, hobbies, and interests have been over the years and plan stimulating activities they will enjoy. And, if Alzheimer’s or another health condition has robbed them of their ability to continue a hobby, I look to see if there is a way to modify it, so that they can still enjoy it or, I look to find a similar (but still enjoyable) substitute activity to replace it.

Professionally, I was a Human Resources Manager/Director for 25+ years and took off 2 years to be a full time caregiver to my parents. My most fulfilling position was with NYC's largest geriatric social service agency. Since I am skilled in working with individuals with cognitive decline, in September 2017, I took a position as a Companion to a 65 year old woman with early onset Alzheimer's / Dementia. Unfortunately her cognitive function declined to where she is now will best be served by a Home Health Care Aide and therefore, my position ended in May 2019. I can provide you with stellar references regarding the services I provided, my skills, the positive impact I made and, my intelligence, character and honesty.

FYI - I do not drive but am more than happy to escort you or your loved one via car service or public transportation.

I sincerely hope you are intrigued by my background, warmth and wit and I look forward to hearing from you and providing you and your loved one with providing you and your loved one with meaningful assistance.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

2 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Grooming

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/8/19

  • Open (all day, everyday)
Jump to Top
Judy S.
Judy S.
Bronx, NY 10463
58

years
of age

2

years experience

Home Care Rates $25 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now