JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Nakia S. Care Companion in Mount Vernon, NY 10550

Looking for full-time work as a care companion.

Mount Vernon, NY

  • Age 22
  • 2 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Home Care Rates $20 per hour
$15 per half day
$20 per full day
$1000 per week
$4000 per month

Nakia’s Bio

Good morning. My name is Nakia. I am a student at Westchester Community set to graduate in May of 20192. I live in Mount Vernon NY, halfway between New York City and Connecticut. Like many of you, what motivates me to face each day and make it better than the day before are kids, family, your principles and your profession. I could tell you all about the first three things on my list of what matters, but let me speak a little bit about my work—really, my profession, which matters a great deal to me. I am a direct support professional. We use the term “DSP.” Direct Support is a straightforward, yet complicated profession. I work with individuals who have developmental disabilities (which includes intellectual disabilities, autism, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, and many neurological disabilities). The typical day in the life of a DSP I shop; I cook, clean, drive, lift, hold, hug, heal, guide, teach, solve and help. I transport people and also show them how to get from place to place as independently as possible; I am central to individual service planning; I teach self-determination and responsible choice; I assist people with disabilities to realize their dreams and their plans for next week; I use behavior modification techniques; I assist in all aspects of personal care, adaptive equipment and therapies as needed. Recently my only Grandmother was diagnosed with dementia and soon it will turn into Alzheimer’s. It’s very had to watch someone you love, forget all they know & fade away but it’s also important to care for those who are incapable for caring for themselves at the moment or maybe never again. That’s what encourages me too keep caring for people in the position I’m in now, until I’m qualified to show how much I care in other ways. One of the toughest challenges I welcomed this year was finding a “real” job for Chris, a young man with intellectual disabilities. I knew he had the potential. I wanted everyone else—employers, his family, as well as Chris himself—to see that same potential. I knew he was fully capable of working a real job and earning real pay. I just didn’t realize how hard it would be to get others to see what I saw. Determination and skills I learned from my credentialing program paid off. He is now working part time and looks forward to work. He loves what he does and has a great relationship with this boss and co- workers.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

2 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 7/1/19

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
Jump to Top
Nakia S.
Nakia S.
Mount Vernon, NY 10550
22

years
of age

2

years experience

Home Care Rates $20 per hour
$15 per half day
$20 per full day
$1000 per week
$4000 per month

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now