JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Luciann R. Care Companion in New York, NY 10026

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

New York, NY

  • Age 52
  • 5 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $23 per hour
$60 per half day
$100 per full day
$450 per week
$2000 per month

Luciann’s Bio

I have watched my grandma decline into a Stage 4 Diagnosis. Parkinson's Disease does not kill; it disables the patient to the point of total dependency. When my grandma was first diagnosed, I didn't fully comprehend. Her doctor prescribed medication to increase the dopamine her brain failed to supply, but she continued her career with full force for years. I only understood the severity of Parkinson's when she was no longer able to work, and soon after leaving her job, when she was no longer able to drive. From brain surgery to physical therapy to adverse side effects of medications, the experience with my grandma's diagnosis and progression of Parkinson's Disease has taught me empathy, maturity, and, possibly one of life's most useful qualities, the ability to cope. Throughout the past years, I have learned compassion and empathy by aiding my grandmother as she lost physical ability. The loss of muscle mass due to Parkinson's combined with the blood pressure issues from her medications caused my grandmother to sometimes lose her ability to walk. After she eat dinner, my mother, and I would often need to combine our efforts to help her to bed. I have developed patience over time by reminding myself not to be intolerant when she got into a certain physical state. Although, it was frustrating to see her walking and moving well at one point in the day, yet become immobilized in a chair not even half an hour later. The only thing that kept me from stressing over the situation was the empathy I have acquired. Empathy is defined as ‘the intelligent identification with the feelings, thoughts, or attitudes of another.' But empathy to me is so much more; it is an ineffable bond of understanding. Empathy provides a sense of moral responsibility. It is the ability to put aside your own thoughts and feelings for one moment in the day to attempt to understand those of another human being. This understanding enabled me to help other individuals and gave me the strength I needed to cope with my situation at home. With compassion and empathy, I was better able to appreciate my grandma and her challenges, as well as my mother, who was my nan’s primary caregiver. My understanding, respect, and love for my mother has made me more independent and responsible. Sadly, my grandmother passed away many years ago, but I am appreciative of this life lesson learnt, for it has equipped me with the skill sets of caregiving to work with her, kids and the elderly as part of my previous

Experience

Age Specific Experience

5 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance

Willing to run errands

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • On call (as needed)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/7/18

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

References

Tassie B. is a reference for Luciann R. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top
Luciann R.
Luciann R.
New York, NY 10026
52

years
of age

5

years experience

Home Care Rates $23 per hour
$60 per half day
$100 per full day
$450 per week
$2000 per month

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now