JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Dana D. Care Companion in Bellmore, NY 11710

Looking for full-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

North Bellmore, NY

  • Age 37
  • 0 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Home Care Rates $0 per hour
$0 per half day
$0 per full day
$0 per week
$0 per month

Dana’s Bio

I am a recent graduate of Nassau Community College, with a degree in Human Services and Social Welfare. My intentions to major in this field were to work with people with mental illness and addictions and assist in recovery, rehabilitation and develop coping skills to enter back into society. During my last year of school, I interned at The Glen Cove Senior Center where I worked in the Adult Day Program, directly assisting and interacting with the elderly who suffered from Dementia, Parkinson’s and Alzhemier’s Disease. We focused on socialization, and keeping them active and busy during the day with activities and entertainment. I also was assigned to the library at the senior center in which my main responsibilities were to be a companion to those who needed it. We would chat, play games and I would teach them how to use the internet and new cell phones, talk about nutritional advice, look at their fmaily photos and so on. I grew to love working with the elderly, and decided to continue my education specializing in Geriatrics. My life experience has been dedicated to taking care of my grandmother and grandfather when I was in high school which entailed me to drive them to appointments, clean their home, prepare their meals and help with whatever they needed. The same continues now for my Stepfather’s mom who is 82 and residing in PA. My mother and myself go once a month to do the exact same thing for her as she is disabled and has many chronic illnesses. Currently, I am a part-time Strength Training Specialist at a personal training facility in Mineola where I physically work with people of all ages to train them through any physical ailments they have. I have a current CPR certification and a valid driver’s license. I reside in North Bellmore and have a very flexible schedule.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

0 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 5/31/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)

References

Maria S. is a reference for Dana D. Relationship: Family
Mark M. is a reference for Dana D. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Dana D.
Dana D.
North Bellmore, NY 11710
37

years
of age

0

years experience

Home Care Rates $0 per hour
$0 per half day
$0 per full day
$0 per week
$0 per month

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now