JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Christina F. - Narragansett Care Companion

Christina F. Care Companion in Narragansett, RI 02882. Looking for part-time work as a care companion.

Narragansett, RI

  • Age 47
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Christina’s Bio

I have been the caregiver for each of my Grandmother's as they grew older into their eighties and nineties, as well as a close friend of the family who was my nanny from the time I was 9 months old to age 21. My father lives in TX and could not assist his mother; my mother is simply not a nurturer; and, both my nanny's daughter's live out of state.

Duties and responsibilities:
- Light housekeeping (dust, vacuum, laundry)
- Grocery shopping
- Doctor's visits
- Kept track of medication levels and refills
- Reconciled checkbook
- Wrote out holiday cards
- Assisted w/showering
- Daytime drives to beach, restaurants, mall, stores, church, etc.
- Evening drives to attend parties, functions
- Visits for companionship (played games, watched TV)

I was happy to assist each of these fantastic women because I loved them and learned much from them. They were independent, opinionated, strong women who helped me develop into the self-confident, successful person I am today. I believe in aging with dignity, grace and respect, as they did, and anticipated whatever I could to make life as comfortable as possible for them. There is no need to be a shut-in, especially when one has a vitality for life. Once they went into assisted living, nursing homes and eventually hospice care, I was right there to monitor medication levels, nurse and doctor treatments and to be a frequent visitor.

I would enjoy providing companionship for anyone who wishes to have a new face in their life, a little help with something around the house, etc. I am a warm, friendly person who loves to listen to stories and learn about others.

I am happy to provide references once we decide if there is a good fit.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years paid experience with:

  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Meal Planning

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/24/14

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
Jump to Top