Sittercity Sign up
Joan H., Care Companion in Mesquite, TX 75149 with 4 years paid experience

Joan H. Care Companion in Mesquite, TX 75149

Looking for full-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified.

    Verify directly with the sitter.

    CPR certification

Mesquite, TX

  • Age 66
  • 4 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within a month

Home Care Rates $12 per hour
$50 per half day
$100 per full day
$500 per week

Joan’s Bio

When my parent had a heart attack, I provided full time care for her for over 2 years so she would not have to go to a nursing home. I worked with nurses, assisted and bathed my mom 6 days a week, provided snacks and cooked meals, bought groceries and took care of errands and medications, full house cleaning daily along with laundry. I have a CPR/first aid certification. I cleaned and dressed bed soars ... maintained oxygen tanks, applied creams to body to prevent bed soars, gently massaged feet, legs, arms and hands, kept hair clean when she became bedridden with special shampoo caps that she loved.

i personally love to read and cook and would be able to entertain as well, anything from canasta to dominoes, other card games along with backgammon and even a good game of chess. I enjoy crafts and love movies. I love the Bible and would be happy to transport to any event that they are interested in ... even outings for shopping, eating out or to a movie. If they have a doctors or dentist appointment ... that would be no problem. I charge by the hour and the only extra fee for appointments would be to cover gas and parking if needed.

I personally know how important it is to provide quality care for a parent and because of the demands of a career, one may not be in the position to leave their job and do so. I was fortunate at the time when my mother needed me the most and took that step. She was at home until a week or so when she passed. When things became serious, I phoned for an ambulance, and yes, she did have to do rehab in a nursing home until she was well enough to return home, but she always returned home. While occasionally staying in a home, I went there daily took care of all her laundry and kept an eye on her care.

My mother was very happy with the care I provided to her. I cooked anything from a quiche from scratch, to egg rolls and even a home tamale. I searched and purchased books that she would enjoy and my son and I kept her in movies that she loved.

If you would like for your parent to be able to remain in the comfort of your home, have hot meals prepared, be kept clean and have companionship, please contact me. I would promise honesty and kindness to your love ones along with quality loving care. My background check and driving record is provided and I am a non smoker. If there are any pets ... they too will receive loving care at no extra charge.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

4 years paid experience with:

  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management

Willing to run errands

Willing to provide non-medical transportation (e.g. to appointments, shopping, errands, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/11/16

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
Jump to Top
Joan H.
Joan H.
Mesquite, TX 75149
66

years
of age

4

years experience

Home Care Rates $12 per hour
$50 per half day
$100 per full day
$500 per week

  • Enhanced background check

  • Motor vehicle records check

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now