JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Marlena T. Care Companion in Blacksburg, VA 24060

Looking for full-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Blacksburg, VA

  • Age 22
  • 1 year paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Marlena’s Bio

I am a Human nutrition, foods and exercise student at Virginia Tech looking for some experience in the field of Healthcare. I am interested in becoming a doctor and want to experience all areas of health before applying to medical school. I have CPR and First aid certifications as well as athletic training/ physical therapy experience. I have an older sister who is currently a nurse at UNC medical center and I have a proficient understanding of hospital procedures. I also have experience with medical terminology witch will allow me to assist with explaining hospital procedures to the patient. I also have training in health counseling and can handle the emotional taxes that come along with being a care companion and know how to properly console a patient and their family. I believe that one of the most important aspects of medicine is understanding the patient and I believe that being a care companion can be the best start to my medical career.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

1 year paid experience with:

  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education
  • Mobility Training

Experience with providing health & medical services:

  • Wound Care
  • Pain Management
  • Diabetic Care

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 6/14/18

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

References

Samantha T. is a reference for Marlena T. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Marlena T.
Marlena T.
Blacksburg, VA 24060
22

years
of age

1

years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now