Sittercity Sign up
Deborah P., Care Companion in Chesapeake, VA 23320 with 20 years paid experience

Deborah P. Care Companion in Chesapeake, VA 23320

Looking for full or part-time work as a care companion.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification

  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Chesapeake, VA

  • Age 65
  • 20 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Yesterday

Rating Average rating of 5 (4 reviews)

×

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (4)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Deborah was wonderful! She always went above and beyond whatever was expected. Our entire family loves Deborah. ...

- Donna M.
Read all reviews

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

Deborah’s Bio

My name is Deborah.  I have been a care giver on several levels for most of my life. I also taught school for 18 years. I have been certified as a CNA and Activities/Social Services Director since 2004. I did childcare/eldercare as a side job, along with teaching or long term care. You will find my childcare credentials under my Childcare application. As for eldercare, I have worked in long term care and activities in two facilities. I worked, overnight hours with a man who had Parkinsons Disease. One woman had a broken hip, and I was with her for about 3 months.  I sat with a resident at a nursing home for several months, until her death.  Her family had heard about me, and hired me sight unseen. I have stayed with several friends for brief times after hospital stays. I assisted for several months with a woman with pre and post rehab needs. I have helped with small chores, light housekeeping and meals. I play various games, run errands, do grocery shopping... just the everyday living responsibilities.   I'm willing to do what I have to do to make them comfortable or assist. I am told I have excellent bedside manner. My "adopted" mother had long term illness (a fused back, fibromialga, many hospital stays), and I assisted her on every level. I am willing to stay with seniors so thier family members can have a break or go on vacation. I am a good communicator between seniors and family members.  I have a cheery disposition and a good head on my shoulders.  I am responsible, flexible and have an excellent work ethic. I am calm in an emergency and able to bring cheer and hope. All rates are negotiable.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

20 years paid experience with:

  • Under 55 years old
  • 55 to 64 years old
  • 65 to 74 years old
  • 75 to 84 years old
  • Over 85 years old

Experience with providing basic care services:

  • Conversation and companionship
  • Safety supervision
  • Meal preparation
  • Medication reminders
  • Social activities
  • Light housekeeping
  • Exercise/Physical activities
  • Laundry and linen changes
  • Shopping
  • Mobility assistance

Experience with providing personal care services:

  • Bathing
  • Dressing
  • Grooming
  • Feeding and special diet
  • Toileting

Experience with providing individualized services:

  • Medication Administration
  • Medication Assistance
  • Medication Management
  • Grooming Guidance
  • Assistance with Pets
  • Meal Planning
  • Nutrition Education

Willing to run errands

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Prefers to provide visiting care

  • Short term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Willing consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 3/11/20

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken

  • English

Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (4)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  
5

Deborah was wonderful! She always went above and beyond whatever was expected. Our entire family loves Deborah. She took such great care of both of our grandchildren. We were sad when she moved out of state, but happy for her all the same.

- Donna M.
5

Deborah took great care of our pets while we were on vacation -- 3 dogs, 1 cat, 2 birds,a beta fish and two hermit crabs. The animals were all well cared and seemed happy & relaxed when we got home. Deborah even sent us a few text updates to let us know how they were doing while we were gone. We appreciated the convenience of having someone come to our home on a daily basis to care for the animals instead of boarding them or finding friends & family for such a big commitment. I highly recommend Deborah and plan on using her services again one day.

- Julie S.
5

Miss Debbie is absolutely fantastic!!! She is so wonderful with my children. She reads books to them, sings to them and treats them as if they were her own. We are so blessed to have her as a sitter and we would definitely recommend her. She is honest and loving and I can not say enough good things about her.

- Sara D.
5

Our family has had Miss Debbie full time from July- November 2010. As sad as we’ll be to see her go, it was always supposed to be a short job so I know there is another family out there that will benefit from having her in their lives! I don't want to be over the top to the point that it sounds false, but she has been an absolute blessing to our family. My husband had suffered a seizure and was unable to care for our children, (ages 9 mos, 20 mos, 4 yrs, & 6 yrs), drive them to school, or get himself to the doctor. She walked into a complicated situation with a happy smile and a flexible attitude. She drove to school, the grocery store, the doctor, the dentist, and helped us make sure the kids never missed Wednesday night church. There wasn't a thing she wasn't willing to do! She cared for our three children and another infant my husband had been babysitting prior to his medical problems. All of them adore her. She keeps them busy with age appropriate activities and enjoys staying busy. She keeps the house looking clean and straightened and I have never walked in after work when she doesn't have the house cleaner than it was when I left. She is easy to communicate with and wasn’t late or didn’t call in sick a single day the entire time she was with us! When she arrives each morning they're thrilled to see her and they run to the door yelling her name. That alone is the most telling review I can offer. She’ll definitely be back to stay with the kids for date night even after she is no longer full time for our family.

- Amy D.
Show all reviews (4)

References

Marilyn M. is a reference for Deborah P. Relationship: Client
Leann G. is a reference for Deborah P. Relationship: Friend
Jump to Top
Deborah P.
Deborah P.
Chesapeake, VA 23320
65

years
of age

20

years experience

Home Care Rates $10 per hour

  • First aid training

  • CPR certification

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now