JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Julie S.

Nanny in Huntsville, AL 35816.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Huntsville, AL

  • Age 35
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $8-$15 per hour

Julie’s Bio

I have a BA in creative writing and a minor in education. Currently I have a fairly open and flexible schedule. I recently relocated from Tulsa, OK to Huntsville, AL to be closer to my family. I spent my late childhood and teen years in Huntsville.
I do not have any children of my own, but I have always been around children because my mother runs a church nursery and cared for children in our home. I love to work with children because I believe that we have a responsibility to care for those who need it--and children certainly qualify for that! There is a short window of time during which we can influence and set a child on a good path, and I take every opportunity to help a child develop good social skills, good reasoning skills, compassion, and strength of character.
I do not use any form of punishment when I care for a child, but that does not mean that I allow children to run about undirected. My approach is to keep a child engaged and active in the process of learning. I address discipline issues with redirection and compassion. Of course, if one child is threatening another, I separate them. Short of that necessity, my goal is to help a child learn to make the right decision, not to condition a child to submit to the will of another.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Down Syndrome
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 12/3/16

  • Weekends Daytime

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help

References

Jackie L. is a reference for Julie S.
Tamara G. is a reference for Julie S.
Jump to Top
Julie S.
Julie S.
Huntsville, AL 35816
35

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $8-$15 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now