JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Tasha D.

Nanny in Del Mar, CA 92014.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Del Mar, CA

  • Age 70
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

Tasha’s Bio

I want to act as a good grandmotherly influence to your children :) I am filled with a life-time of experience in childcare beyond that of my own children. I even put my ex-spouse through medical school by running a child care center in our home (although now, years later, I only babysit in my clients' homes)...
I re- certified11/10/13 in CPR for Children. I have been a volunteer on a Disaster Assistance Team for the Red Cross and have served as a spokesperson for the San Diego Epilepsy Foundation. My character is impeccable. I am reliable, loving, kind and energetic. I am a stable Del Mar homeowner. I believe a good babysitter is more than merely entertainment for a child. She should guide, encourage and teach many little (age-appropriate) lessons. But children also need time to grow, imagine and create on their own. It is the balance of the two that promotes a sense of accomplishment for children. Even when "my" children are playing on their own, I do not put TV on for myself. Most television is objectionable especially for children and I never watch if they are awake and rarely when they are asleep. I believe there is interesting and educational television programming, but even it should be viewed on a limited basis, not used as a crutch. Latest studies by the American Pediatrics Association suggest that children under age two should not watch any DVDs (educational or otherwise) and validate my opinion.
If my parents ask me for a commitment I, in turn, expect that same commitment from them. I may charge more than other less experienced applicants but it is appropriate compensation; simply put, I have more experience by far, come loaded with great credentials and bring into the family unit a dynamic grandmotherly influence.
I wrote a syndicated newspaper column called "American Nanny". In it I discussed relevant subjects to young families.  I also wrote reviews of children's literature . I was a Food Editor and was trained in France and Italy (good for cooking lessons). Additionally, I won seven medals in the local Senior Olympics for swimming (good for pool/beach playtime). In March 2011 I returned from Ethiopia where I worked briefly with children through World Vision as a volunteer.  By August 2012 I had been a volunteer with a Foster Children's camp in Julian.  Previously, I have been a volunteer in Julian for children with Epilepsy.   I always come well prepared to engage the children in healthy, new topics.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Overnight care
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Teen, Adult
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: More than 10 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Epilepsy

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Sign Language

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 5/1/14

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Sue P. is a reference for Tasha D.
Sue P. is a reference for Tasha D.

Trustline is California's official background check for license-exempt child care providers (i.e. babysitters and nannies) and the only authorized screening program in California with access to fingerprint records at the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation and access to the California Child Abuse Central Index. The Trustline registry toll-free telephone number is 1-800-822-8490.

Pursuant to Section 1596.859 of the Health and Safety Code, parents have the right to receive information regarding any substantiated or inconclusive complaint about licensed child care providers. That information is public and can be acquired by visiting the California Department of Social Services' Internet Web site at "www.ccld.ca.gov".

Jump to Top
Tasha D.
Tasha D.
Del Mar, CA 92014
70

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$25 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now