JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Melissa G.

Nanny in San Francisco, CA 94132.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

San Francisco, CA

  • Age 50
  • 30 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Rating Average rating of 4 (3 reviews)

×

4 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  (1)
3 star  (1)
2 star  
1 star  
5

Melissa has been a wonderful addition to our family. She has cared for our little girl since she was 2 months o...

- Anand M.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $18-$25 per hour

Melissa’s Bio

Hello and thank you for taking the time to research my profile as you prospect care for your infant and or children. Besides babysitting I work as a Birth, Night, and Postpartum Doula. I volunteer at HPP, TAPP, & SFGH Birthing Center. My background clearance is with the Dept. of Justice and I'm CPR certified as well. I'm a non-smoking mother of two young adult sons and an aunt of 8 neices and nephews and 2 great nephews. Besides experience with my own family, as a single mother over the past 20 years, childhood development encompassed so much of my life. There was a lot of Share-Care, the soccer mom role, school parent work, etc. Not to mention that as a young adult I worked in a preschool and was a Live-In nanny for an officiant at my church. Children are one of life's treasures I LOVE spending time with. I've been Professionally working with families for over 27 years and can appreciate the milestones of development and challenges that families face. Besides Infant and Childcare, I do light housekeeping, petsitting, and personal assisting. I have experience with twins and prefer not to babysit more than 3 at a time. Please contact me if you think I could be of service to your family. Thank-you and good luck with your childcare endeavors.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

30 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Age groups: Infant, Youth, Adult, Senior
Has own special needs child
Years of Experience: 2 to 3 years

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Premature Newborn

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 2/25/14

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Other

Homework Help:

  • Checking answers
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

4 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  (1)
3 star  (1)
2 star  
1 star  
4

Melissa watched my two kids, ages 2 and 4, nearly full-time for two weeks. It was a very difficult assignment because we had no existing relationship, were away from home, dealing with a time zone change, and had tired kids most of the time. Also because it was intense but temporary, it was not the standard nanny or babysitter situation.

Melissa was understanding and caring. She went out of her way to bring thoughtful surprises for us and the girls, and was always ready to whisk them off to a new fun playground or adventure. She was also extremely calm even though I know our kids were frustrating to deal with during this time.

I feel that my husband and I didn't have great communication with her, through no one's fault, just weren't really a good match. Our direction was taken more as suggestion if it didn't suit Melissa's style or experience (for example, the children's nap schedule was inconvenient for long adventures and putting them down proved quite difficult, so she arrived home 30-90 minutes after we suggested; ways to deal with the kids when they weren't cooperating, things like that). Also she is so calm and experienced that events I found alarming when I found out about them (kids falling out of swings several times, my 4yo managing to leave the main library alone for a minute until a policeman brought her back in) didn't phase her at all, even enough to mention to me at the end of the day. We also had some small schedule changes come up with little notice. As I said, it was difficult because it was such a short stint and I don't think our styles were the ideal match.

I personally like Melissa very much. She was caring and positive and my girls enjoyed their time with her. I am sure my husband and I could have been more direct in our communications. And I am sure she is great for parents who want someone very calm about all the things that can happen to kids (as opposed to being slightly more rigorous, as I guess I am), or perhaps with slightly older children.

- Audrey C.

Provider's Response

Audrey:
Let me clarify that upon leaving the library, yes, Clementine did run ahead of me and I'm just so grateful that a security guard grabbed her at the door when he did.
The Naptime was a challenge working on CST in a PST zone. If you recall, the girls and I often left the house at 10am; we traveled, ate lunch, and got back by 12:30/1pm. To get them back by 11am/12noon and down for a nap was a difficult endeavor and I'm sorry that was disruptive to your work. Had I known that the return home was not to surpass noon, I'd have had them back by noon. I'm sorry that I misunderstood the your schedule.
I really enjoyed working with your family this week and hope that you enjoyed your stay in San Francisco during your work-vacation.

All the best,
Melissa Gundran

Melissa

5

Melissa has been a wonderful addition to our family. She has cared for our little girl since she was 2 months old and has done an excellent job providing thoughtful attention to our baby's individual needs.

Finding sound newborn care is difficult and we are thankful to have found someone who is caring, patient, and experienced. Due to our baby's colic, we needed someone who could care for a more high maintenance personality and who truly understood how to soothe a difficult newborn.

With Melissa, we have finally had long nights of sleep and can relax and enjoy our beautiful little baby! We use Melissa for weekly overnights for those precious nights of sleep, and we also have her over during the week for afternoon "Mommy Time."

I am now comforted to know that I have an extra team member in raising our child, and have a sounding board for new ideas. She is currently in the process of acquiring her doula certification, and we look forward to utilizing her invaluable help with our next child.

- Anand M.
3

Melissa was with me for a year. She began combining multiple jobs while watching my son for $25 an hour. She would focus on such things as constantly going through my things and "reorganizing" them instead of following my instructions of focusing on getting my son to bed on time or spending one on one time with him for simple phonics excercises. The last straw came when Melissa lied and said she was running late from the movies but in actuality was at a friends house while my son was taken care of by her friends 6 year old daughter. Multiple times she would be at this so called friends house when she was supposed to be focusing on my son and getting him to bed on time. The day I fired her I realized the extent of the racket she was running.

- Maria M.

References

Kellie B. is a reference for Melissa G. Relationship: Client
Ramona S. is a reference for Melissa G. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Melissa G.
Melissa G.
San Francisco, CA 94132
50

years
of age

30

years experience

Preferred Rate $18-$25 per hour

  • Basic Background Check

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now