JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Molly S. - Aspen Nanny

Molly S. Nanny in Aspen, CO 81611. Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Aspen, CO

  • Age 22
  • 4 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $15-$30 per hour

Molly’s Bio

I have worked with kids in a variety of settings, both professionally and as a volunteer, and I decided to become a caregiver because there is nothing I love more than spending time with children and helping them learn to believe in themselves.

I gained significant experience working with children through my summers as an overnight camp counselor Minnesota. I spent three summers as a cabin counselor, supervising girls ages 10-12 for 24 hours a day while also teaching activities and leading out-of- camp trips. Last summer, I led 15 of the oldest campers (age 15) on a five-week backpacking trip. The trip was designed to prepare these girls to become counselors, so it was my responsibility to inspire leadership and help them become confident, initiative-taking women. I loved being a role model for those girls. I loved that, through the hiking trips we took, I was able to teach them skills they can use in any aspect of their lives. I loved the 24/7 togetherness because it made us a family. We spent five weeks living out of two vans, driving from one beautiful place to another and trekking through the wilderness for up to five days in a row. Before each backcountry trip, many of the girls went through the same routine: feeling sick and anxious about the terrain and potential difficulties that awaited them. My job was not only to motivate the kids to push their boundaries, leave their comfort zones, and accomplish more than they thought they could, but it was also to make sure they had fun doing it. After miles of songs, games, photo shoots, and funny stories, there was nothing better than watching them look out onto a perfect view with their arms in the air and a look of absolute pride on their faces. I want to spend my life helping kids discover who they are.

I recently spent a month working at a progressive private school in Gunnison, Colorado. I came to the school as a volunteer, and within two weeks the principal asked me to teach my own honors language arts workshop. I also became involved in extracurricular activities. I co-wrote and directed a musical for the kindergarten class and co-directed a play for the junior high students. During my time there, I worked with students ranging from the ages of four to sixteen.

I am currently applying for Masters in Teaching programs.

I hope to continue working with children during my time in Aspen. Thanks for your consideration!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

4 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 3/11/14

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish
Jump to Top