Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 47
  • Nanny in Littleton, CO 80120

Meet Melanie

  • Certified Nursing Assistant
  • Comfortable with pets

Hi, I have a 2014 Toyota w/8 8 air bags. A safe driving record and reference letters. I was a Private Patient Care Provider from 2002 through 2010, I took legal custody of my niece at age 10 to adulthood when her father passed and her mother was unable to care for her. She has Spina Bifida and other special needs. I raised her to be a successful, independent-living and college-educated adult. Taking care of a special needs child for eight years provided me with experience to care for children of different ages and needs. I was a YMCA Director from 2000 through 2005. I ran afterschool and summer camp programs at various sites for children ages 5-11. I was hardworking, creative and fun with all the children. It's important to be energetic and play on a child's level while teaching them manners, self respect and to be sensitive to Read more others needs. During my time at the YMCA I planned new and various lessons including art and physical activities for the children. The kids were always excited to be at camp. My sites ran smoothly. I created academic, art, physical activity lessons and more. The kids were excited and on task from the moment they got to their program until the moment they left. As a director, I appreciated the fact that I had very good rapport with the parents and my colleagues. I worked for the Medical University of South Carolina Children's Hospital from 2010 through 2012. I was a nurse's assistant while contemplating returning to college for a second degree in Nursing. I decided against becoming a nurse, however I learned a great deal and enjoyed my time at the children's hospital. I provided individualized patient care to children from newborns through age 16. I worked in the Surgical, Cardiac and the Oncology Units. I spent 2013 in Florida caring for a nine year old boy. He was a shining bright light. He has ADD and ADHD. He was a grade and a half behind when I first began working with him. While caring for him I tutored him in reading, spelling and math. He is now at grade level and no longer requires a tutor. I relocated to Colorado in March of 2014 and love it! I began caring for an amazing two year old girl while her live in nanny was on a three month maternity leave. I was also a live in nanny I have been a full time nanny/tutor and mother's helper since and I am presently looking for a new position to start immediately.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 8/1/15

Ratings & reviews

Melanie doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$15-$20/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Physical Disabilities
    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Cancer
    • Dyslexia
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Education

Graduated University of South Carolina - Columbia 1990

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Melanie's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now