JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Heather R.

Nanny in Torrington, CT 06790.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Torrington, CT

  • Age 43
  • 27 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Heather’s Bio

I began baby-sitting when I was in sixth grade, and have been baby-sitting ever since. Besides baby-sitting for neighborhood children, I also watched my three nieces after school, or as needed. During the summer, I would watch two of my nieces every day, until they got old enough to stay home alone. My most recent job was last year doing after school care for a 7 year old.
I also have a lot of experience with children besides baby-sitting. I have always been an active part of my nieces' lives (they are now 18, 20, and 22). In high school, besides baby-sitting, I worked at the day care center in my high school and was a day camp counselor. In college, I volunteered as a mentor to an at-risk child, and worked at the UCONN preschool. My college degree was in human development and family relations with a concentration in childhood and adolescence. After college, I volunteered as a Big Sister with the Big Brother/Big Sister program. I was with my little sister from the time she was 6, until she turned 13 and thought she was too old for a big sister. My first job out of college was working as a preschool teacher for three years, followed by 11 years of working as a special education paraprofessional in an elementary school. I have also spent time as a tutor, both after school and during the summer. I also volunteered to teach church Sunday school for a couple of years.
I love to stay busy: some of my interests are reading, baking, playing games, doing crafty/creative things, bike riding, taking walks/hikes, playing tennis, puzzles, bowling, and miniature golf.


Age Specific Experience

27 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Dyslexia
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Multiple Sclerosis

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 4/28/15

  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling


Christine C. is a reference for Heather R. Relationship: Family
Jump to Top
Heather R.
Heather R.
Torrington, CT 06790

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now