JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kristen S.

Nanny in West Hartford, CT 06110.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

West Hartford, CT

  • Age 25
  • 7 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Kristen’s Bio

Background Information:  Hi, my name is Kristen! I am 19 years old,and will be 20 in september. I'm finishing up my sophomore year at UMass Amherst, which I loved! I am currently double majoring in Sociology and Legal Studies, and I plan on either getting a masters in education and becoming a teacher, getting a masters in social work, or going to law school! I will be coming home for the summer, and would love to get a babysitting job! My availability is from May 7th-September 1st, with the exception of the weeks of May 28th-June 3rd and August 18th-August 25th as I will be on vacation.
Lifelong Experience:  I have always loved working with children! As a first born in the family, I have a younger sister and brother, who are my best friends. I always loved helping my mother take care of them. I would help feed them, bathe them, dress them, and change their diapers. As we got older and I turned 11 years old, my parents trusted me to stay home alone with them. Now, I cook dinner for them occasionally, help them with their homework, drive them to after school activities or sports practices, etc.
Babysitting Experience:  I have regularly babysat for three families. I got my first job when I was 12, watching a 5 year old girl for 3-5 hour periods. I watched her until she was 10 years old and ready to stay home alone. My neighbors had twins, a boy and a girl. I babysat them when I was ages 14 to 17 and they were 7 to 11, cooking them dinner, playing games with them, and sometimes staying over their house at night. I also took care of them when they were sick with fevers, strep throat, stomach viruses, etc. Lastly, I babysat for a family with 2 boys, one age 6 and one age 10.  I babysat them occasionally for 2 years. Two of these families that I babysat for had a dog, which I also took care of. I've also been a camp counselor for 3 years, working with children of all ages.
Age groups:  In terms of ages that I am most comfortable with, I love children of all ages but I have the most experiance with children ages 2 to 13. I've never cared for an infant alone, but would be willing to learn! I'm CPR certified and know the heimlich maneuver, so if there was ever any trouble with food swallowing, I would know how to react in that situation. 
Volunteer Work:  I have volunteered as a tutor at the Sylvan Learning Center for a year, so I would be able to help your children with homework! I was also a volunteer camp counselor at the Noah Webster House for two summers. Activites consisted of outdoor games, historical activities, arts and crafts, cooking together/including the children in cooking meals, washing dishes, etc.
Philosophy:  In terms of a caregiver philosophy, I am very adement in sticking to the parents wishes. If the parent wants them to eat only certain kinds of foods, thats what will happen. If the parent wants them to only watch TV for one hour, thats what will happen. One thing I am sure to do when babysitting is go outside for a little bit, unless the child has health issues forbidding them to do so, or if the weather wont allow that. I like for myself and the children to get some fresh air and not be cooped up in the house all day.
Toys and Games:  I am still a kid at heart and love all toys and games! I grew up with a brother and a sister, so we had many different types of toys in the house from hot wheels cars to barbies. I love picture books when I was younger, and watching disney movies! Any game or toy that your child wants to play with, I will have most likely played with it before as well and would love to again!


Age Specific Experience

7 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position


My availability is valid through 6/17/12

  • Weekends Daytime

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Linda C. is a reference for Kristen S.
Linda C. is a reference for Kristen S.
Jump to Top
Kristen S.
Kristen S.
West Hartford, CT 06110

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now