JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Kathryn R.

Nanny in Washington, DC 20003.

Washington, DC

  • Age 32
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within two months

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Kathryn’s Bio

Hello all! I grew up in Wellesley, MA and graduated in 2007 from Kenyon College (OH) with a BA in Psychology and Anthropology. I've loved being able to see and do as much as possible in my 20s, so I've lived in Chicago and DC since college, doing everything from working as a case manager in social services for a year through the Lutheran Volunteer Corps, to nannying for a family of 3 under 4, to working for The Children's Inn at NIH, a place like home for families with children in pediatric protocols at the National Institute of Health's clinical research center.
I've always known that I want to work in the Maternal and Child Health field, so after a 6-week trip to Guatemala this past summer to learn Spanish and the local culture, I returned with the renewed vigor of beginning a path to a master's entry nursing program in women's health/nurse-midwifery. I am currently working as a Medical Assistant in a GYN office roughly 35 hours per week. The position is fantastic but I often work on Saturdays and have down time during the week. Therefore, I am looking for one or two great families to work for, preferrably for a number of hours per week on a flexible basis but also for occasional weekend nights.
I believe you can access my specific babysitting/nannying experience on SitterCity, but I have been babysitting since I was in 8th grade, mostly for families with three or more children, many of which I have been with when they brought new babies home! I've loved being part of these busy homes, where everyone was constantly growing and we'd have such full and rich days. Caring for single children is an incredible experience as well. With just one schedule, there are more opportunities for spontaneous and creative child-centered activities, which I love to drum up :)
Babysitting has been a constant source of joy in my life and I'm incredibly excited to meet some great families in the Boston area!
This is a description written by the mother of a family I've known for the past 15 years. I think it captures my energy and passion for taking care of children:
"I am here with our ultimate babysitter/4th daughter/best friend.  She moved to Chicago this fall and just saw your card. If you ever need a babysitter, she is the best and would love to babysit your adorable children.  I have never met anyone who likes to play with kids so much - she is smart, interactive and soooo cheerful.  So I have now hooked you up by email.  I will be jealous but think you both would love each other.  Ali"


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism
  • Epilepsy
  • Visual Impairment

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Natalie H. is a reference for Kathryn R.
Matt P. is a reference for Kathryn R.
Jump to Top
Kathryn R.
Kathryn R.
Washington, DC 20003

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$25 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now