JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 34
  • Nanny in Lawrenceville, GA 30043

Meet Cara

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hello! My name is Cara. I am a responsible and nurturing professional who currently works weekend nights and is looking to work steadily throughout the week as well. I have a very flexible schedule which would most definitely allow me to be more available for you, your family, and your little one(s). I have a Bachelor's in psychology and also pursued my Master's degree in Marriage and Family Therapy at Oklahoma State. While in this program, I learned a great deal about child development and communication. I also did therapy with children of all ages and their families and taught parenting classes. It was a very rewarding and educational experience that has and will help me to be a better nanny. I have 3 nieces (12, 3, 14 mo.) and 1 nephew (13) (and another on the way) that I love very much. With my older niece and nephew, I Read more love to get them outside and moving as much as possible. I also love taking them to places where they can learn new things (i.e. aquarium, zoo, Fernbank). With the young ones, I love to cuddle, read to them, and play with toys that aid in age-appropriate development and skills. I love a clean house, so have no problem helping with housework. I also like to get the children involved in this, giving them age-appropriate jobs. I find that children love to help and are eager to please when they have a connection with and respect the authority. Children want to be noticed, so I always make sure that they know how much I appreciate their help. I am very verbally affectionate with children. My favorite thing to say to my nieces and nephew (besides "I love you") is "I'm proud of you," a sentiment that is often forgotten but is SO important to express. I also greatly enjoy cooking and introducing kids (and myself) to new, healthy food. I am adamant that each meal must have a fruit or veggie (cue groan from kids), but am usually pleasantly surprised when they go back for seconds :) I love building new relationships and have always been someone that children gravitate to and trust quickly even though I let them do so at their own pace. I honestly think that this is what makes it such a success, a no-pressure but accepting and nurturing attitude while still being the authority figure that will protect them and keep them safe.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position
  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)
  • Available to start on 6/11/2018
  • My availability is valid through 9/6/18

Ratings & reviews

Cara doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$15-$50/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)

Education

Marriage and Family Therapy

Oklahoma State University - Stillwater

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • English
    • Essay writing

Share Cara's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now