Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 8 years paid experience
  • Age 30
  • Nanny in Chicago, IL 60615

Meet Roumaissa

  • Speaks Arabic
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I never planned to babysit but over the years I have found that my parents' friends will drop their kids off no matter what and I quickly mastered the arts of finger painting and crustless sandwiches. I firmly believe in an active lifestyle for kids and everyone else. I grew up watching almost no TV and  I wouldn't want to subject a child to hours of lifeless observation. I take my job seriously but I'm still very laid back. I still want kids to learn, be able to trust me, and feel secure and content everyday while having fun. Growing up I wished my parents would take me out more so I take some pleasure taking kids out to the  Shedd or a walk through the zoo.        

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Expired. Last completed on 11/14/2015.

  • Completed Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Completed 02/09/2020. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Expired. Last completed on 04/21/2014.

  • Completed First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

  • Completed CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Certification is self-reported and not verified. Verify directly with the sitter.

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 5/14/16

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars

5-star

4-star

3-star

2-star

1-star

1

0

0

0

0

Deborah H.

1/21/2014

I have never met a person with such an intuitive sense of the needs of a child. Roumaissa instantly (instantly - the minute she made eye contact!) put my son at ease. At thirteen months old, he was at the height of his "stranger-danger" period. He was even nervous around his own grandmother. But he took to Roumaissa in a flash. She has an amazing, comforting presence, and a confidence that I think he found reassuring. I work from home, so I was able to hear her interaction through the day. She was attentive to his every need, his mood, when he was hungry, when he was bored with a book. I don't even think he realized there was a transition... she tended him the way I do myself. How do you describe the comfort that comes from finally finding someone you can trust with your precious child? Roumaissa was an absolute joy. I am attempting to put into words the many many things she brings to the table that are above the norm. She is obviously highly educated, and cultured. But I think the most important thing to me was that she treated my son like a growing person. So many people treat toddlers and infants as if they were incompetent, rather than just new to the world. With every interaction, I could tell she was seeing his skills and adapting to what he could and couldn't yet do. I truly felt that she could "see" him - all his potential wrapped up in a little mini person - and enjoyed the process of watching him explore the world. Highly, highly recommended.

Experience

Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$12-$17/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months)

  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Special needs expand

    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Education

Political Science/English

Currently attending University of Illinois at Chicago

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

Share Roumaissa's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now