JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Emily E. - Chicago Nanny

Emily E. Nanny in Chicago, IL 60608. Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 30
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Yesterday

Preferred Rate $18-$25 per hour

Emily’s Bio

I welcome the joy, challenge & privilege that come with entering a child's life & world. I hold a tremendous respect for their developing personalities as well as, an extraordinary sense of responsibility for their well being, entrusted to me.I have worked with multiple families & know the value of discretion & creating a supportive home environment..
I grew up with a father who was a child/adolescent psychologist & learned a lot about cognitive development, sensory  play, the use of manipulative's for engaging, purposeful, self-directed work for children and teens. 
I often understand the challenges of growing up feeling misunderstood or different & have had great success with children with learning differences.
I am a trained, educated & practicing artist. I was educated in painting, drawing, sculpture, design, printmaking, enameling & glass. I also was trained in art theory. My greatest passion when caring for kids is to develop a sense of play, wonder & discovery in them. This could be through art, science, math, ect. I also feel these genres overlap. I have developed playful ways to infuse & sneak in lessons that make learning fun! And it should be. I have some background in Montessori & Waldorf sensory learning & feel it is an excellent way to introduce learning to little minds that soak up everything. I furiously read & write & like to pass on these gifts to the kids.
I also am an avid proponent of health; both in how we nourish our bodies & how we exercise them. I love sports. I love to run, play, tickle, make up games. I think sports teach important lessons that are analogous to how we interact & handle social situations in our greater lives.
I study about clean, whole foods & how it helps fuel our bodies. I am sensitive & aware of food allergies.
I love to have quiet time as much as play time. Doing chores & homework are a priority for me. I am an excellent cook who enjoys preparing meals. I don't own a tv nor believe it should be used as a babysitter. I am mindful to not use a phone around the kids I care for and am always open to helping clean and order the house.


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Dyslexia
  • Learning Disabilities

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Respiratory Care
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 5/7/14

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish


Rachel A. is a reference for Emily E. Relationship: Former Employer
Jump to Top