JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katie K.

Nanny in Chicago, IL 60646.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Chicago, IL

  • Age 29
  • 6 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within five months

Rating Average rating of 3 (2 reviews)


3 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  (1)

Katie is an outstanding sitter. My 2 spirited boys looked forward to days she worked with us. Katie often brou...

- Melissa L.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $17-$25 per hour

Katie’s Bio

PARENTS: If you are previewing and have yet to register, you can feel free to use my username "misslola" as the promo code for a discount when you register!
If you are looking to connect with families to nannyshare with, please email at findnannyshare1 at or checkout
I have a passion for helping children  grow and learn. When interacting with children, I seek to support their interests and needs, encourage their creativity, and explore their world. I believe children need nurturing, consistency, and regular opportunnities to explore things =)
  About me:
I have been a proffesional nanny  for over 5 years. My experience varies from infants, toddlers to school-age, and  primarily infant/toddler twins ( double trouble!). I have been babysiting since I was fifteen years old. And I started proffesionally nannying in college. I really enjoy working with babies/toddlers, because it's their stage of development and I enjoy interacting and teaching them new concepts, it is rewarding because your work is reflected in their day to day activities.
I am a very energetic, cheerful, responsible self-starter. I try to be flexible , I consider myself outgoing,and  open-minded. I enjoyi having very open direct communication with parents when I am under their employment. I think it makes me perform better and at the same time they have a peace of mind. I appreciate mutual respect and I always  try to follow a similar parenting style as the parents would like .When it comes to discipline I follow parent guidelines, but on a personal note I always enforce manners please, and thank you, even bless you :) ; when children are doing something wrong even at 2 yrs old I always try to explain to them first  in calm voive what they are doing wrong  , and if parents incorporate time outs onlyy then I put them in timeout so they know why they are there.
I am bilingual, fluent in Ukrainian. I also took 3 years of spanish high school. I can serve as a tutor for language, or math since I am a finance major,or any other homework your child may need help with.
Recent Background:
 In the past  year I have worked with boy/girl twins August 2007  to June 2008. Previous to this position I worked with another family that also had boy/girl toddlers. Following the 2008 position I worked with infant newborn  to Aug 2009 and then I worked with twin girls  50 hours a week, who are 3 now they were 10 months old when I started.  I only babysit them occasionally now.
Childcare Style:
My childcare style all depends on the age of children ofcourse. But overall I go by the rules and boundaries set up by the parents.
I also set my rules as far as manners. I always put manners first, I talk to them with respect , always using please, thank you, excuse me, and you welcome. I teach them to follow the same model. I believe that that by teaching kids these simple things from an early age they will develop to be well-mannered and respected by others.  I believe in healthy diets for children but ofcourse that all depends on what the parent prefers. I'm all about safety and kids being clean, that means washing their hands, sanitizing their hands during snacks at the park,etc
I love dancing, singing, doing exercises with the kids no matter what age, they seem to love it. I am  very enthusiastic about it because I enjoy it as much as they do. I will soon post a video just so that you can picture it :) Also, I enjoy reading books with them, it is never to early to start! 
Please feel free to contact me about  your child sitting  needs and I will get back to you ASAP
I would be happy to provide my references, for privacy reasons I didn't post them directly. :)


Age Specific Experience

6 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

4 to 5 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 6/1/2015


My availability is valid through 7/31/15

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Ukrainian

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies
  • Ukrainian


3 out of 5 stars

5 star  (1)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  (1)

We conducted a phone interview with Katie and then emailed and called her asking her to contact us to schedule an in-person interview. She did not respond for two days. Because Katie did not contact us we intereviewed another candidate and offered her the job. We notified Katie that we had filled the position and thanked her for her time. She responded by claiming that we had "wasted" her time by asking her to contact us about an interview. Perhaps in the future she will not wait two days to respond to emails and phone calls from prospective families about interviews.

- Blake H.

Provider's Response

I have responded always on timely manner to parents and I have been with sittercity since 2007. You called me and left me a voicemail at 4:15 pm and wanted an interview that same evening which is impossible on such short notice. I returned your call on timely manner . And I did say I value my time. Thank you.


Katie is an outstanding sitter. My 2 spirited boys looked forward to days she worked with us. Katie often brought the boys snacks and surprises during her visits - they loved it! Katie always took the boys on adventures - either out the the zoo, outside for squirtgun fights, or rainy day rock-n-roll inside parties- compete with spiked hair and instruments. She's very creative and loves children. You will love having Katie as your sitter.

- Melissa L.
Jump to Top
Katie K.
Katie K.
Chicago, IL 60646

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $17-$25 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now