JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katie K.

Nanny in Park Ridge, IL 60068.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Park Ridge, IL

  • Age 25
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Rating Average rating of 2 (1 review)

×

2 out of 5 stars

5 star  
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  (1)
1 star  
2

While I cannot comment on Katie's child care, I can mention that we set up and interview with Katie around 2:00 ...

- Laura B.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $400-$600 per week

Katie’s Bio

 My mother is a professionally trained nanny. I have spent majority of my life growing up and assisting her with children she has cared for. She has taught me many skills that most nannies my age have no knowledge. When I turned 13 I started baby-sitting in the neighborhood. I have cared for infants as young as two months and kids as old at thirteen years old. Activities that I provide for the kids and my employers are taking walks and bike rides; going to the park; going to the pool; taking the kids to and from school; going to the beach; trips to museums. Chores I am willing to help out with are dishes, some laundry, and light cleaning. I also taught third and fourth graders religious education at St. Paul of the Cross(Park Ridge) for five years.  
 After I turned sixteen, I began to work a few non-nanny jobs. I realized that I missed baby-stting. When I baby-sat it was a job that gave me joy. Seeing kids grow up and learn knew things is marvolous and I want to be a part of it. From the day I was born I was on the job with my mom and I knew I would love to become a nanny and care for kids just like she did.
I attended DePaul University. I have a BA in Communication & Media with a minor in television production. My educational background is evidence of my creative nature and is something I bring everyday to work with the kids I babysit for, through crafts, puppet shows and other creative play. My post college pan is to continue caring for kids until this Fall where I plan to get my Master in Education either from Northwestern or University of Illinois Chicago. I am open to staying on as a sitter while attending graduate school and can plan my schedule to fit the days we agree upon.
I am applying for a part time positions during the week with possible evenings and weekend hours. I have my own vehicle and I have a perfect driving record.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Diabetes
  • Hearing Loss
  • Visual Impairment

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible

Availability

My availability is valid through 11/24/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Social Studies

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Reviews

2 out of 5 stars

5 star  
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  (1)
1 star  
2

While I cannot comment on Katie's child care, I can mention that we set up and interview with Katie around 2:00 and she canceled with short notice because of a family emergency, which is understandable. She then called and asked for another go, which we of course said okay to and then she no called, no showed for that interview.

- Laura B.

Provider's Response

I apologize for the above Laura, I understand that is not very professional. That is not like me to ignore a request for an interview. But I feel I do not deserve a harsh review like this one just because I did not respond. This hurts me as a sitter and a student who is in need of a job to survive in this rough economic time.

I would like the parent/guardian reading this review to know that during this time my family was going through a rough time. I prefer not to disclose the exact family emergencies that happened because I am quite a private person. But Laura and parents/guardians reading should know it is not like me and I apologize. This was an isolated incident. As for my childcare it is spectacular and I hope those of you reading do not set my application aside. I have countless parents that will account for my skills and ability to take care of your children and i'd be happy for you to contact them and ask them yourselves.

Thank you. I truly hope you give me a chance to prove to you that I am one of the best sitters our there and am highly qualified for caregiving positions.

Sincerely,
Katie K.

References

Sandra C. is a reference for Katie K. Relationship: Family
Liz And Matt A. is a reference for Katie K. Relationship: Client
Jump to Top
Katie K.
Katie K.
Park Ridge, IL 60068
25

years
of age

10

years experience

Preferred Rate $400-$600 per week

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now