Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 5 years paid experience
  • Age 43
  • Nanny in Elkhart, IN 46514

Meet Mary

  • Speaks Italian, Polish, Russian, and Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

I am number 9 of 13 children. My sister ran Catholic Charities when I was young and in addition to our brood she would sometimes bring home teenage moms. My parents also fostered babies for a time. I also have 70 nieces and nephews, all except two living within 20 minutes of my home. In addition to family and plenty of outside babysitting, in high school and collage I worked for 5 years at Child Abuse Prevention Services supervising infants and toddlers and helping in child/parent interaction. Upon graduating from Notre Dame, I spent many hours with children in the missions all over the world, including orphanages in Siberia, South Africa and Tanzania. Whenever my sisters had babies (and it was multiple times a year) I would come home and take care of their other children -truly like a full-time job. Infants and toddlers are my specialty. I also was Read more the full-time caregiver (on and off) of my brother's five young children as he struggled with cancer three times over seven years.Each time he got sick again I would come home from the missions to take full-care of his children since his wife was busy with him usually out of town. I also spent about 6 months helping a friend with nightcare of her adopted newborn twin grandbabies -they were sickly and on heart and breathing monitoring machines. In her 70's she and her husband received full custody of them and were exhausted -so I would come from about 5 until after midnight so she could get some rest. I spent the last year working 80 hours a week as a night/morning and then day nanny for newborn triplets in Chicago. I need to gather funds to return to the missions and babies are my specialty. I was volunteering at a Home for Abandoned Babies and Children the past few months and they offered to hire me full-time, yet I could not find safe housing nearby (they lived in a very dangerous area).

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check Expired

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider working as a live in care provider
  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 11/5/17

Ratings & reviews

Mary doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$20-$30/hr for the first child, $7 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs

Education

Theology

Graduated University of Notre Dame 1999

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

Share Mary's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now