JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Ms S.

Nanny in Overland Park, KS 66223.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

Overland Park, KS

  • Age 56
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Preferred Rate $14-$20 per hour

Ms’s Bio

Caring for babies & children is an integral part of who I am.  If you are looking for someone who will respect your family dynamic, will nurture your children as you would do yourself, and will make a commitment to your family, please consider me.  I am seeking to be shared among families who appreciate my patience, tenderness, kind heart and passion for taking care of babies and children. My current and former families will be happy to communicate with you about my work with their children.
I have experience as a rock-a-bye baby cuddler, story reader, singer of children’s songs, audience to children’s jokes, mother’s helper, chauffer, grocery shopper, diverter of incidents of crying over spilled milk and other minor disasters, kisser of boo-boos real and imagined, and all things baby and/or child related.
In addition to having raised four of my own babies, I also ran a licensed day care & preschool and was involved in a babysitting co-op.  I have a BA in Early Childhood and Elementary Education, with experience as a kindergarten-2nd grade teacher, as both a live-in and live-out nanny & housekeeper, and as a private tutor.  I am very active, outgoing, and positive.  I enjoy taking walks with children, playing with them at the park or in the yard, helping them learn to walk, talk, pat-a-cake, sing, read, ride bikes, and do somersaults.  I try to keep children engaged in a balance of active and passive play and activities, structured and independent play, and spontaneous learning opportunities.
Currently, as a part-time shared nanny, I keep my day teacher-facilitated but child-directed, (a variety of activities so the children make many independent choices). I engage children in "learning moments" daily... answering questions and teaching mini-lessons whenever they show an interest in something.  I also blend learning with routine household tasks, integrating new words to expand vocabulary beyond the simple terminology.  For example, I teach math concepts while doing laundry or the dishes, introducing such words as categorize , separate, compare instead of just “ sort ”.    Through playing games, we love to explore while developing positive character traits and both social and academic skills.


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Autism

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Summer Position

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 2/3/14

  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


Sandy L. is a reference for Ms S.
Sandy L. is a reference for Ms S.
Jump to Top
Ms S.
Ms S.
Overland Park, KS 66223

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $14-$20 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now