JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • 9 years paid experience
  • Age 28
  • Nanny in Overland Park, KS 66204

Meet Mary

  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

Hi, my name is Mary! I have been babysitting/nannying since I was about 14. I have always been around children and I absolutely adore them. Children hold a special place in my heart and that is why I would love to get back into taking care of children. I am from the Lake of the Ozarks. I graduated from Lake West Christian Academy in 2009. The following school year (2009-2010) I did an internship at the school as the K4 teachers assistant. As the K4 teachers assistant I helped teach the kids the beginning basics of what they would learn the next year in kindergarten. We taught them their colors, shapes, alphabet, how to color, how to cut with scissors. We also taught them how to write the alphabet in manuscript as well as cursive. We taught them how to begin reading, with consonants, vowels, and how to put them Read more together to make words. We also taught them Sign Language. Along with being the assistant teacher for K-4, I also was the substitute teacher for K-5 through 4th grade, the English/ Literature sub for grades 7th- 12th, and 1st and 2nd grade reading circle assistant. Being able to work with the children so closely was such a fantastic experience. The year after that (2010-2011) is when I became a nanny for twin girls and their older brother. Being their nanny involved getting to their house by 7 am, feeding them breakfast, laying the girls down for a morning nap, the boy and I would do activities while the girls were asleep which was always fun. Then came lunch time, after lunch the four of us would do activities together, getting outside as much as possible was always the goal, weather permitting. Then came nap time for all the kids, once I got all the kids down for their afternoon naps I would usually do alot of cleaning, dishes and whatever else the parents would ask of me. The kids would usually wake up before the parents would get home from work and I would get them a snack and we would play for awhile, and my day would usually end around 5 pm. The twins were in diapers during the duration of this nanny experience so I can do diaper changes. The older brother was basically potty trained but had accidents of course. In the fall of 2011 I moved to Columbia, MO. I lived there for almost three years, working at Olive Garden. I did a semester of college at Central Methodist University for Early Childhood Development. I plan to go back to school in the fall. I recently just moved to the Overland Park area and can't wait to find a job doing what I love!

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Willing to consider a full time position
  • Seeking Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Available to start on 9/3/2014
  • My availability is valid through 12/3/14

Ratings & reviews

Mary doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$10-$15/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)

Education

Special Needs Education

Attended Central Methodist University

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • English
    • Social studies

Share Mary's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now