JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Michele V.

Nanny in Boston, MA 02113.

Looking for part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Boston, MA

  • Age 28
  • 14 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within three months

Preferred Rate $20-$35 per hour

Michele’s Bio

Hi there! My name is Michele. I am 23 years old and live in the North End. My sister and I were raised by my mom, aunt and grandma in the same building for my whole life, and it is because of them that I truly know what it takes to be a child care provider. They taught me to rule with a gentle hand and that a loving caregiver is often appreciated more than a demanding slave driver. Children listen better when asked to do something as opposed to being demanded to do something. I love children, and I love teaching them new things, though they are of course teaching me new things all the time as well. I love to bake with kids, and make cleaning up fun as well. I love story time and sing-alongs, and even taking kids out for a photography date! One of the most important things that I find when working as a nanny is to have great communication with my family. When parents don’t see their children as much as I do, I like to keep track of things through photo, video and sometimes a small journal. I write things like new foods we have tried, places where we have gone, and when they are very young I note how many times their diaper was changed and such. I also think it is important to keep consistent with rules and punishments. It is important to keep consistency with children, or they'll get confused. I am definitely an outdoor nanny. I like to take kids to the park, the library, different museums, and sometimes just out to ride the train back and forth, since so many children LOVE ‘Thomas’, and like seeing him up close as well. Even in the snowy or rainy weather I tend to dress kids up in snow pants or a rain coat and go splash in puddles, which kids enjoy as well. I do, however, really enjoy Disney marathons, popping popcorn and curling up on the couch where most kids eventually fall asleep. As I said, when inside I like baking with kids but I also like creating fun crafts for kids to complete. For example, I have on occasion brought to the children a pile of cardboard, which we used to make a dollhouse and even dolls, using paint, crayons and glitter. The most important thing I think there is to note about me as a nanny is that I absolutely fall in love with my kids. I become a part of the family, as they do for me. It is important to remember that kids do not view this as a business arrangement, they see me as someone else in their life who loves them, and that is what I am, and always will be.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

14 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Cancer
  • Down Syndrome
  • Mental Illness
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

Job Duration

  • Will consider a part time position

Availability

My availability is valid through 10/18/13

  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)
  • Weekday Evenings
  • Weekends Daytime
  • Weekends Evenings

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • English
  • Sign Language

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • English
  • Essay Writing
  • Sign Language

References

Susan W. is a reference for Michele V.
Susan W. is a reference for Michele V.
Jump to Top
Michele V.
Michele V.
Boston, MA 02113
28

years
of age

14

years experience

Preferred Rate $20-$35 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now