JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Diane G.

Nanny in Northampton, MA 01060.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

Northampton, MA

  • Age 34
  • 15 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Diane’s Bio

I am a highly experienced infant and childcare provider who has had many roles with children: nanny, babysitter, household assistant, educator, counselor, aunty and friend.  As an older cousin in a large close-knit family, I have been taking care of children of all ages since I was a child myself. Six years ago I began providing full-time childcare again, working both as a contracted nanny and as a self-employed part-time babysitter.

As a childcare provider, I aim to make each day enjoyable for the children I take care of.  I do not believe in "simply supervising."  I play, help with homework, think of new and exciting things to do, and new and exciting things to learn. I nanny because I love children, and I've had so many rewarding experiences with many families.

In the past several years, I have been working quite a bit with infants, toddlers, and preschoolers.  I have extensive experience with twins, including nannying infant twins in their first year (thre sets of twins, actually, and the first are now 11!)
 My experience also includes teaching theater to children ages six through twelve (in a summer camp setting) and teaching cooking/nutritional classes for children ages 4-10.

I have worked with special needs: autism, moderate brain damage (infant), hypoglycemia, moderate delays in motor skills, post-traumatic stress, grief, ADHD, chronic acid-reflux, and chronic ear infections.  I have worked with physical therapists and occupational therapists to assist parents in ensuring that daily exercises are done, and that new behavior ideas are tried and, if need be, adjusted with specialist and parents.  This kind of work is very much being part of a team, all of whom are supporting each other in assisting the infant or child's happiness and growth.

Overall, my outlook on nannying and babysitting is that childcare is family care.  Supporting children is supporting their parents, and supporting parents is supporting their children.  I aim to listen, communicate, learn and grow with every family I work for.  I am always continuing my education by reading, joining play groups, participating in nanny groups and online forums, and by simply listening and communicating with the families in my life. My goal is support every member of the family the best that I can.

I can provide my resume and references upon request.

Thank you for taking time to read my profile!


Age Specific Experience

15 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

More than 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Mother's helper

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Diabetes
  • Juvenile Diabetes

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Bathing
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

  • Short-term (1 to 3 months)
  • Temporary (4 to 12 months)
  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)
  • Permanent (2 or more years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Available to start on 11/10/2014


My availability is valid through 12/31/14

  • Open availability on weekdays (M-F)

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Spanish

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • English
  • Social Studies
  • Spanish
Jump to Top
Diane G.
Diane G.
Northampton, MA 01060

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now