JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Michelle B.

Nanny in Waltham, MA 02451.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

    CPR Training

  • University of Massachusetts - Boston

    University of Massachusetts - Boston

Waltham, MA

  • Age 25
  • 12 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: This week

Preferred Rate $500-$700 per week

Michelle’s Bio

I grew up in Billerica, Massachusetts and have been living there for the past twenty years. During the Fall of 2011, I went off to school at Regis College in Weston, Massachusetts to pursue my dream of becoming a nurse. I have just left my part time job as a customer service associate at a retail store to work with children.
Currently, I am looking to become a live in nanny for a family in the Boston area while I attend school part time. I am inexperienced as a nanny, but have nine years experience as a babysitter. I would like to take on more responsibility, since I am older and have grown more mature over the years I have been babysitting.
My babysitting interest started at age 11, when I became a mother's helper for a woman who lived down the street from me after her second child was born. Since then, i have taken a babysitting certification course, attended lectures on teamwork, and have been CPR and First Aid certified. In the past nine years I have been working with children, I have had experience with boys and girls between the ages of newborn to twelve years old. Some experience with special needs include anxiety, autism, and ADD. 
Currently, I have three babysitting jobs I attend to on a regular basis. The first family I babysit for is occasional nights out. This family has a boy who is in first grade and a girl who is in fourth grade. When I am babysitting, we usually pretend to go on an adventure by boat (the couch) and make a house where we will stay during storms and nights (the laundry room). We also have dance parties, color, and use playdough. Our most favorite thing to do is go outside and play with chalk, or ride bikes. The second family I babysit for on a regular basis is for a four year old boy who has been diagnosed with PDD, a form of autism. While he has speech and motor skills that make this job a challenge, this boy has a love for singing, playing with musical instruments, reading books, and swinging on his swingset. His parents have told me that their son responds well to my high energy and structure. The third family I work with has a daughter who just turned 15 months at the end of June. While this girl has just started walking and is a child who enjoys swimming, playing in the sand box, and playing in water, she has been easily frustrated with not being able to verbally communicate yet. Due to this, I have begun teaching myself the basics of American Sign Language (ASL) and teach her ASL by making the hand gestures as well as talking. 
In addition to my work experience as a customer service associate and a babysitter, I also have over 300 hours of volunteer work over the past six years. The primary place I did my volunteer work was at the Bedford VA Hospital working with Alzheimer's patients who have lost the ability to eat on their own and speak. While volunteering, my job is to read the patients books, play games, sing songs, and bring them outside in their wheelchairs during the summer so the patient gets a chance to be off of the secured facility.
Outside of work and school, I enjoy being outside, dancing, yoga, going for walks, rollerblading, doing arts and crafts, going to the gym, and being involved in the community. This past year at Regis College I participated in the Dance Company, yoga classes, and Campus Ministry. In Campus Ministry, I hold the position of Treasurer for the upcoming year.
I look forward to expanding my love for children and babysitting over the next few years while I work towards my degree in Nursing. Please contact me for references, I will be more than happy to give them to you!

Experience

Age Specific Experience

12 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Alzheimer's
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Administering Medication
  • Bathing
  • Bed Baths
  • Blood Glucose Testing
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Injection Assistance
  • Insulin Injections
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Sign Language
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position

Availability

My availability is valid through 9/13/13

  • Weekday Early Morning (Before School)
  • Day-time Weekdays (M - F)
  • Weekday Afternoons (After School)

Skills & Abilities

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help
Jump to Top
Michelle B.
Michelle B.
Waltham, MA 02451
25

years
of age

12

years experience

Preferred Rate $500-$700 per week

  • First Aid Training

  • CPR Training

  • University of Massachusetts - Boston

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now