Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 10 years paid experience
  • Age 57
  • Nanny in Jay, ME 04239

Meet Susan

  • Speaks English
  • Comfortable with pets
  • Has a car

I was the oldest child on both sides of my family. I became the babysitter for all my cousins. Some family members worked shift schedules, therefore I was responsible (at a very young age) to be overnight care for school age children. I prepared meals, conducted routines, walked to school and refereed! It came very natural to me and I was trusted to make good decisions in the absence of adults. Fast forward. I am a stable mature parent of a 13 year old boy, and for the record, they are NOT easier!! I recently returned to college part-time to finish my degree. I feel it is important to "walk the walk" when conducting myself. I get better results by doing, not saying. Most recently I provided private care to a younger child, in his home. He had separation anxiety when we first began working together. Over time, I gained Read more his trust. I used resourceful methods to introduce him to his community. We attended "story hour" at a local library, used the local playgrounds and walked in the community in addition to playing with toys, playdough, musical instruments, etc at home. He was a beautiful child when we met and blossomed into an even more beautiful child when he could feel comfortable around other people. My services extend past humans! I have been caring for a gentleman's dog over two years. His reference is on my profile. Each case is different. I look forward to an opportunity to lend my assistance in any way possible. Average hourly rate is based on typical business hours, evening rates will need to be adjusted. Any overnight considerations would need to be at my home.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check not run.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available evenings


  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/4/14

Ratings & reviews

5.0 5.0 stars











Kevin B.


I work shift work (12.5 hours) with travel time on either side. I have utilized Susan's services as follows - Susan stops by at a pre-determined time and lets the dog out. I have found Susan to be prompt, courteous and very reliable.


Willing to care for 3 children per sitting

$10-$12/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Physical Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Down Syndrome
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support



Currently attending Central Maine Community College

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Susan's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now