Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 61
  • Nanny in Duluth, MN 55805

Meet Lars

  • Comfortable with pets

A parent of two of the children I have provided childcare for off and on for the past 20 years has affectionately nicknamed me “Larry Poppins,” and it’s a title I don’t take lightly. While I’m not necessarily “practically perfect in every way,” I’m definitely a proponent of the belief that “for every task that must be done there is an element of fun.” In addition to having raised a now 29 year old son as a single father, and collectively having provided decades of childcare to various nieces, nephews, cousins, friends kids, you name it —- I’m the one that people always call upon when there is a last minute baby sitting crisis. Much like Mary Poppins, while the children I babysit do experience that “element of fun,” I am simultaneously strict in regard to there always being a “job that must be done,” and whether that job is Read more finishing homework, doing chores, being kind to a sibling or practicing that karate kick until they master it, I will do everything I possibly can to motivate children to be their very best. Having cared for children with PTSD, autism, ADHD, PANS/PANDAS, learning disabilities, medical problems, as well as kids without special needs, there has been no child that has scared me off. I have cared for as many as five siblings at a time, as well as all age groups and life experiences, including children affected by the trauma of divorce, parental homelessness and incarceration, mental illness and abuse. I’m familiar with and can teach children calming techniques such as meditation, deep breathing and pet therapy. It’s all about establishing trust through setting firm boundaries, as well as being patient, kind and a good listener, and being intuitive enough to know how to use the right set of skills at the right moment. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Dietetics from the College of St. Scholastica; graduating Cum Laude, and became a Registered Dietitian (RD), and this experience has helped me understand the importance of a healthy diet for children. Having worked in hospitals, nursing homes and geriatric personal care, I know CPR and can efficiently navigate any medical health crisis that could present itself in a childcare situation. If you would like to speak to any of the parents I have worked for in the past I have many references available. Go ahead, give me a call, because as Mary Poppins would say, “there’s nowhere to go but up.”

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using the background check tools. See what each of the badges covered, or learn more about keeping your family safe by visiting the Trust & Safety Center.

  • Incompleted Enhanced Background Check badge Icon

    Enhanced background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Basic Background Check Badge Icon

    Basic background check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted Motor Vehicle Records Check Badge Icon

    Motor vehicle records check

    Never run.

  • Incompleted First Aid Certification Badge Icon

    First aid certification

    Not reported

  • Incompleted CPR Certification Badge Icon

    CPR certification

    Not reported

Availability

Babysitter

  • Generally available mornings, afternoons, evenings, late nights and weekends

Nanny

  • Willing to consider either a part time or full time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 12/17/19

Ratings & reviews

Lars doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$7-$15/hr for the first child, $1 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Asperger's Syndrome
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Autism
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
    • Cancer
    • Diabetes
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Learning Disabilities
    • Mental Illness
    • Mobility Challenges
    • Administering Medication
    • Assistance With Transportation
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Feeding Tube
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Injection Assistance
    • Insulin Injections
    • Lifting and Transferring
    • Mobility Assistance
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

References

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Pre-algebra
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Lars's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now