Sittercity Sign up

Looking for work as a babysitter or nanny

  • 31 years paid experience
  • Age 43
  • Nanny in Minneapolis, MN 55422

Meet Laura

  • Speaks Spanish
  • Comfortable with pets

Looking for Evening / Weekend / Overnight child care? Hire me! I have been a family and neighborhood Babysitter & Nanny since I was 10 years old. I moved back home to Minnesota in 2011 after Nanning for a year between the north-side of Chicago (Roscoe Village) and Annapolis, MD. In Chicago, I was a part-time Nanny for two private families: The first, with a demanding and rambunctious 4-year-old and a gentle, soft-hearted 2-year-old. The second, with an adorable 3 1/2-year-old and creative 5-year-old; all boys. In Annapolis, I was a full-time, live-in, Nanny for infant twin girls. Currently, I live in Minneapolis, MN. I love children and do not have any of my own. Being a Babysitter / Nanny provides the best of both worlds! I enjoy the new and exciting challenges children bring; after all, they're fickle - every day can be different and unique. I am able Read more to set boundaries and limits without lacking in nurturing love and respect. I prefer to interact with children and help keep them busy; activities such as, but not limited to: outings, meals, homework oversight, reading, arts & crafts, swimming, playing cards, Lego’s, make-believe, dress-up, Wii / or other video games, playing catch, shooting hoops, parks & playgrounds, walks, movies, and other approved electronics etc. I adore children of all ages; especially newborns and infants! I love to hold, rock, and sing to babies; and I'm not afraid of a messy diaper. With the right chemistry, I've been called a “Baby Whisperer”. Additionally, I have been a Birthing Coach three times and a Mother's Helper more times than I can count; all great and wonderful experiences! ☆Heartsaver/AED: Infant, Child & Adult CPR Certified - American Heart Association ☆PCA Certified: MN Department of Human Services / #A062660100 ☆Languages: English, Elementary Level Spanish & Basic Baby Sign Language ☆Hourly Rates: Determined per family, rounded up to the nearest dollar, based on 10+ years experience and your zip code ☆All rates may be negotiable based on your specific child care needs ☆Pre-Approved Outing Expenses: Parent('s) responsibility upfront ☆Cash ONLY please! NO Personal checks. ☆With advance notice, Credit & Debit cards accepted with a $5 Handling Fee ☆I welcome all parent ratings & referrals! Share my information with other Families you know that may be interested in hiring a Babysitter or Nanny! ☆Check me out on LinkedIn:

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check in progress. Check back soon for an update.

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification



  • Generally available late nights and weekends


  • Willing to consider a part time position
  • Seeking Summer Position, Short-term (1 to 3 months), Temporary (4 to 12 months), Permanent (1 to 2 years), Permanent (2 or more years) employment
  • Start date is flexible
  • My availability is valid through 3/7/20

Ratings & reviews

4.5 4.5 stars











Rachel L.


At first Laura seemed like a good choice. Good reviews, read about her experience, everything seemed fine. She sent me the paper work to look after my little guy, and because of my busy life I was able to get her 2 out of the 3. But then probably a 2 weeks passed and I sent her my emergency contact form, which included personal information; such as: Address, DOB of my little guy, Insurance information, Emergency contact information, etc. Lowe and behold, I never heard from her after that. This makes me very concerned for her to have my personal information and not to have any contact with this person again. I even sent her a follow-up email asking if she had gotten my paperwork and excited for her to watch my son, no response. I do not believe if Laura has the courtesy to even get back to me after sending information she requested, that she would not be a reliable person to watch my child. This to me is very unprofessional and very disrespectful, and that is why I am giving her 1 star. I am sorry if I am a mom who gets busy in addition works a very demanding job, she apparently was offended about something, and now I am very disguised by her actions towards me. I would not trust someone like her, glad it never got to moving forward with her caring for my son.

Kristal K.


Laura was amazing!! She was always available when I needed her, even last minute too! She worked well with my son. Laura is super friendly and caring, I knew I was leaving my baby in good hands! I would recommend Laura to anyone who needs a sitter, she is truly a great person and sitter! :)

Christa H.


Laura was wonderful! She was very accommodating when we needed a last minute sitter and treated our boys so well. They had a blast and we received a nice update on how the night went. We look forward to using Laura again!

Dana P.


Laura is the first babysitter we've ever had for our infant and she put me at ease immediately. Laura stayed in contact with me throughout the night and made me feel I could call a million times without being the crazy parent. :-) Thanks Laura!

Marcy O.


Saoirse loves Laura and asks us to go out so that Laura can come over. Laura plays games including being a very understanding patient suffering from many ailments and we always get rave reviews in the morning. She's fabulous!

Anna L.


Laura is kind, intelligent, easy-going (in a good way!) and obviously has a lot of experience with toddlers. I was very comfortable leaving my 2 1/2 year old in her care, and he really liked her. I will definitely use Laura again. Anna

Aimee S.


Laura has watched our kids twice and has done a great job! We will definitely continue to ask her back. Both kids get separation anxiety with people they are not used to. Laura has done a great job distracting them with many different activities and has sent photos of our smiling, happy kids while we're out to prove it. She has our 3 year old figured out and does a great job letting her "lead" and feel in control of the situation. Laura is very comfortable around our kids and knowledgeable about children in general. She even had a form filled out recapping the evenings activities, which was unexpected and so great to have. I would definitely recommend Laura as a sitter - as long as it doesn't take her away from us! ; )

Katie H.


Laura saved the day! I had a busy day planned when my child woke up with a fever and couldn't go to daycare. I called Laura in the off chance that she might be available and she couldn't have been sweeter or more accomodating. This was my first time leaving my son with anyone other than family and Laura put my mind at ease right away when she engaged him in play and made him laugh. I will definitely be calling Laura again, she is exactly the kind of experienced, warm and creative baby-sitter I was looking for.

Tara O.


First off, let me say that I was very apprehensive to use this site to find child care. But as soon as she walked in the door, Laura put my mind at ease. She arrived early, was warm and sweet, receptive, intelligent, and over-all and excellent choice! I would recommend her to friends and family, and will definitely be using her services again!

Meg B.


I am writing from the perspective of an interviewer. I am giving her five stars for her warm, caring personality. Laura arrived on-time and with a great smile. She instantly warmed up the room and interacted with our 2 year old girl. I really like that she has first hand experience living with two boys. I plan on using her as a sitter for date night when my husband and I finally make some time for ourselves!


Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$13-$30/hr for the first child, $2 for each additional child

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Overnight care
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Medical/Special Healthcare Needs
    • Social/Emotional
    • Alzheimer's
    • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
    • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
    • Diabetes
    • Juvenile Diabetes
    • Premature Newborn
    • Administering Medication
    • Bathing
    • Bed Baths
    • Blood Glucose Testing
    • Dressing Assistance
    • Feeding Assistance
    • Grooming and Hygiene
    • Positive Behavioral Support
    • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
    • Repositioning
    • Respiratory Care
    • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)


Organizational Management & Communications

Concordia University, St. Paul


Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading

Share Laura's profile

Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now