JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Valerie S.

Nanny in Hampton, NH 03842.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Hampton, NH

  • Age 57
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: More than 6 months

Rating Average rating of 5 (2 reviews)


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

Valerie has been our nanny for my two year old son for nearly a year now. She has been exceptional with him. She...

- Jessica V.
Read all reviews

Preferred Rate $14-$24 per hour

Valerie’s Bio

I have worked for several families as a child care provider, nanny and household assistant. I've had long term relationships with multiple families. I've been fortunate to have been referred by many of these families to their friends and family. I have over twenty years of current experience working with children ranging in age from newborn, toddlers, tweens and teens. I enjoy watching children learn and develop; I find it rewarding seeing them grow and advance. It's very heartwarming to earn the love, trust and respect of the children, pets and families I've had the pleasure of caring for.  I love encouraging and teaching kids; I truly get excited watching them learn to walk, talk and grow! I have a good sense of humor, a strong amount of patience and a creative mind. I firmly believe that mentoring and guiding children in a positive, loving way is key to a brighter future for the next generation. I'm happy to take a small part supporting a child's parents in their care and wellbeing.  
I enjoy cooking with children and having fun in the kitchen with age appropriate recipes and activities. I find this can help to engage and encourage healthy eating and cooking practices with kids. I will of course follow a parents guidelines where this is concerned. I prefer to use fresh, healthy food that is not overly processsed and limiting sweets. I find that starting a child out at an early age with healthy eating habits can lead to a lifetime of good behaviors.  I have experience providing meals and snacks that require special diets such as food allergies, diabetes and gluten free diets. I have patience with "picky eaters" and have learned some helpful ways to encourage and introduce new foods.
 I am also capable of preparing or starting dinner for children and their families. As for household assistant tasks, I can help with childrens laundry, light housekeeping, grocery shopping and errands. I'm very good at organizing and "weeding out" clothes and toys a child has outgrown. I have past experience with overseeing repairman, gardners and maintenance staff. I have also helped familes organize and maintain their homes such as kitchen cabinets, various closets and outdoor living areas.  
As for outdoor activities, I enjoy walking and taking kids to their local parks, play dates, or after school activities.  Smaller children enjoy playing in their own backyards; discovering nature, playing ball, running around and blowing/ chasing bubbles. Playing outside definitely helps children get some fresh air and run off some of the extra energy they have! I also like taking children on outings, these can be museums, farms, parks or local points of interest. The local library is also a great resource for storytime, books, puzzles, movies and special activities during school vacation for children of all ages.
I enjoy doing arts and craft projects with kids and I always have a variety of holiday, seasonal and fun things for them to get creative with.  I also enjoy playing good "old fashioned" board games; it's a great way for children to learn patience and fairness. I will of course follow any guidelines for activities set forth by a childs parents. There are many "low key" activities that children enjoy; it's nice to have times of high energy activities blended with calmer less physical ones. Most of the families I have worked with have specific guidelines when it comes to television and electronic gaming. I agrree with limiting those types of activities and follow the rules of the household where those types of activities are  concerned.
I have a kind easy going manner, I follow through on tasks; and adhere to any guidelines a childs parents set forth.  I'm usually able to gain the cooperation and respect of the children in my care once the trust and comfort level with a new family has been established.  I have a very empathetic nature and a good sense of humor; a definite must when caring for children! Because of my past background as a Medical Assistant I generally have an easy time caring for children who are sick or have health conditions requiring medication or special monitoring. I feel this is a definite advantage over having children in a daycare setting.


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss

Skills & Abilities

Languages Spoken:

  • Italian

Additional Services:

  • Potty Training
  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
  • Homework Help


5 out of 5 stars

5 star  (2)
4 star  
3 star  
2 star  
1 star  

My five year old and 15 month old took to Valerie instantly. She has such a loving way with children. It is comforting to know my children are so well cared for in my absence. Valerie is always willing to go above and beyond for our family. She is incredibly reliable and my children are always learning from her.

- Suzanne C.

Provider's Response

Hi Suzanne, I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your taking the time to post a review of me on Sittercity. In the fairly short time I have been caring for your children I have enjoyed getting to know both of your children as well as your husband and you. I also wanted to let you know that I feel fortunate to have found such a wonderful family to work for. I hope to be caring for Marcus and Vanessa for many years and look forward to watching them grow, learn and develop into their full potential. Sincerely, Valerie


Valerie has been our nanny for my two year old son for nearly a year now. She has been exceptional with him. She is unbelievably patient with him, keeps him well occupied, and he asks when she's coming back. Valerie is self-motivated, she does crafts projects with him, and routinely takes him to the library each week, and remembers to return the books too! My kitchen is clean when I get home, she has done chores around the house even when I didn't ask, it's nice to come home to an emptied dish washer. Valerie has also been very flexible as our schedules change with my son preparing for preschool.

- Jessica V.


Tracey D. is a reference for Valerie S.
Tracey D. is a reference for Valerie S.
Jump to Top
Valerie S.
Valerie S.
Hampton, NH 03842

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $14-$24 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now