JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Lauren G.

Nanny in Northfield, NJ 08225.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

Northfield, NJ

  • Age 29
  • 11 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: Within six months

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Lauren’s Bio

Hello there!
My name is Lauren, and I truly love working with children. I am currently an elementary school teacher with my Master of Arts in Teaching and my Bachelor's degree in English Language and Literature. I am certified to teach Kindergarten through Fifth Grade, and currently I teach upper elementary students.
I have extensive experience as both a babysitter and as a nanny. For one full year, I worked as a nanny for 3 children, ages 6, 11, and 13. During the school year, I assisted with homework and projects, prepared meals, and drove the kids to (and supervised them during!) extracurricular activities and sports. During the summer, I was with the family 9 hours per day and my responsibilities expanded to include preparing 2 meals daily, performing light housework, coordinating and supervising play dates with other families, supervising children while swimming, and generally engaging the kids in different activities all day long! This family and I became very close and even after moving away, we still keep in touch.
Additionally, I also have years of experience as a regular babysitter for several families, with children ranging from ages 3-14. I love playing with kids outside, reading with them, engaging them in imaginative play, creating arts and crafts, cooking with them, and just generally doing what they like to do. I am naturally a "kid person." I believe that it is critical for children to engage in activities that they enjoy, not just that the babysitter enjoys! While I might like reading with the kids, for example, it is very important to me that a child who loves science experiments or putting on a talent show be encouraged to do so.
I have experience with children with various special needs in both academic and social settings. I was a 1:1 counselor to a second grader with Autism last summer, and it was an incredible experience! I am comfortable with working with ALL children. Lastly, although I am not CPR certified at this time, I plan on becoming so in the near future and will gladly become certified ASAP if you wish.

Experience

Age Specific Experience

11 years of paid child care experience with:

  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)
  • Pre-teen/Teenagers (12 years and over)

2 to 3 years of infant care experience

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Delayed Speech

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • English
  • Essay Writing

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling

References

Shirley K. is a reference for Lauren G.
Susy B. is a reference for Lauren G.
Jump to Top
Lauren G.
Lauren G.
Northfield, NJ 08225
29

years
of age

11

years experience

Preferred Rate $10-$15 per hour

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now