JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Katherine O.

Nanny in Farmingdale, NY 11735.

Looking for full or part-time work as a nanny.

  • First Aid Training

    First Aid Training

Farmingdale, NY

  • Age 28
  • 10 years paid experience
  • Female

Last signed in: This week

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

Katherine’s Bio

I am certified red cross babysitter.  For the past five years I have helped to raise and babysit my now five year old niece.  It really awoke me to my passion for caring for children, and I discovered that I have quite a natural talent for it.  I also have volunteered at a day care center, and for the past eight months or so I have helped babysit my now 9 month old cousin.  With my experiences of the past few years, I have decided that I am going to change my career path and move towards a child psycologist. I love animals and children.  I love treating the world and viewing it in a compassionate and loving way.  I try my best not to judge anyone, and I try to understand people to the best of my ability.  I view the world with curious wonderment of what I am going to discover new every day.  One of my goals in life is to help people and to make a difference in their lives, and one way in which I do that everyday is to treat everyone with kindness and compassion, while hopefully bringing out the best in them and making some impact on them in one shape or form.  I like to have fun with children and interacting with them seems to bring out the creative inner child in me which I didn't think I had.  I am amazed as to how powerful wording of phrases and how powerful talking to children is in terms of helping them and getting them to be on the same page as you are.  In dealing in terms of discipline or disaggrement I try to work with the child and come up with a solution together, or at least find out why the child may be having difficulty, and most of the time from there it is easier to move forward together.


Age Specific Experience

10 years of paid child care experience with:

  • First year
  • Toddlers (1 to 3 years)
  • Preschooler (3 to 5 years)
  • Grade School (6 to 11 years)

6 to 10 years of infant care experience

Infant Care:

  • Instruction (proper swaddling, feeding, changing, bathing)
  • Assist with setting a routine
  • Overnight care
  • Mother's helper
  • Occasional care

Special Needs Experience

Special Needs Care Experience

  • Cognitive Disabilities
  • Physical Disabilities
  • Social/Emotional

Special Needs Conditional Experience

  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
  • Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD)
  • Autism
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder/Pervasive Developmental Disorder/Asperger Syndrome
  • Central Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Delayed Speech
  • Developmental Language Disorder
  • Diabetes
  • Down Syndrome
  • Epilepsy
  • Hearing Loss
  • Juvenile Diabetes
  • Learning Disabilities
  • Mental Illness
  • Mobility Challenges
  • Pervasive Development Disorder
  • Premature Newborn
  • Seizures
  • Sensory Integration Disorder
  • Visual Impairment

Special Needs Services Experience

  • Applied Behavior Analysis
  • Assistance With Transportation
  • Bathing
  • Bladder and Bowel Assistance
  • Dressing Assistance
  • Feeding Assistance
  • Grooming and Hygiene
  • Lifting and Transferring
  • Mobility Assistance
  • Positive Behavioral Support
  • Recreational Music or Art Therapy
  • Repositioning
  • Specific Meal Preparation (foods to avoid, etc.)

Availability & Job Preferences

Availability Duration

Willing to consider working as a live in care provider

Has a child who needs to accompany care provider on the job

  • Permanent (1 to 2 years)

Job Duration

  • Will consider either a part time or full time position
  • Start date is flexible


My availability is valid through 10/22/16

  • Open (all day, everyday)

Skills & Abilities

Homework Help:

  • Finishing homework
  • Checking answers
  • Studying for a test
  • Proofreading
  • Basic Math
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Elementary Science
  • Earth Science
  • Science
  • English
  • Essay Writing

Additional Services:

  • Meal Preparation
  • Laundry
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Swimming Supervision
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Travel with Family
  • Willing to run errands as needed
  • Willing to drive children to events, school, appointments, or carpooling
Jump to Top
Katherine O.
Katherine O.
Farmingdale, NY 11735

of age


years experience

Preferred Rate $15-$20 per hour

  • First Aid Training

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now