JavaScript is not enabled in your web browser. In order to enjoy the full experience of the Sittercity website, please turn on JavaScript.

Sittercity Sign up

Looking for full-time work as a nanny.

  • 3 years paid experience
  • Age 52
  • Nanny in Jackson Heights, NY 11372

Meet Shaz

  • Comfortable with pets

I am an Early Childhood educator with a B.Ed and Master's in Linguistics. I have been teaching young children for over 20 years in Australia and US. I am originally from Australia but live permanently in New York now. I have a passion for working with very young children from birth - 7 years old. I encourage creativity and imagination in all the children I care for. I have a focus on nurturing children cognitively and I also have a good understanding of the developmental stages of young children. I took a break from teaching when living in San Francisco and cared for an 8 month old child as a nanny. I currently teach 2-7 year olds the Mandarin language with music and movement. I believe learning needs to be playful, joyful and engaging, so I use an abundance of activities to delight the children in my care. I play Read more guitar and immerse children in music and songs to encourage language development. I am also an artist so I expose children to lots of different materials where they can create their own world. I am a mother of adult children so I understand how parents have to juggle work and home. I am highly organized and take the initiative when required. My personal qualities of creativity, flexibility and patience helps with the parent/child transition. I keep a daily journal of fun activities that your child is engaged in, so parents feel they are sharing in the milestones of their child and not missing out on any special events, however small.

Trust & safety

We encourage parents to conduct their own screenings using our background check tools. To learn more about our committment to keep your family safe, visit the Trust & Safety center.

  • Enhanced background check not run.

  • Basic background check completed and badge awarded. Contact the caregiver directly to see the report. What does this background check cover?

  • Motor vehicle records check not run.

  • First aid certification

    First aid certification Not on file
  • CPR certification

    CPR certification Not on file

Availability

  • Will consider a full time position
  • Permanent (2 or more years)
  • Open (all day, everyday)
  • Available to start on 2/28/2019
  • My availability is valid through 5/25/19

Ratings & reviews

Shaz doesn't have any reviews yet.

Experience

Willing to care for 4+ children per sitting

$900-$1500/hr

  • Infants (age 0-11 months) expand

    • Swaddling
    • Feeding
    • Changing
    • Bathing
    • Assist with setting a routine
    • Mother's helper
    • Occasional care
  • Toddlers (age 1-3)
  • Preschooler (age 4-5)
  • Grade School (age 6-11)
  • Pre-teen/ Teenage age (12+)
  • Special needs expand

    • Cognitive Disabilities
    • Autism

Additional services

  • Meal Preparation
  • Light Housekeeping
  • Crafts
  • Potty Training
  • Homework expand

    • Finishing homework
    • Checking answers
    • Studying for a test
    • Proofreading
    • Basic math
    • Elementary science
    • Earth science
    • Science
    • English
    • Essay writing
    • Social studies

Share Shaz's profile

Report
Jump to Top

Today only! Save up to 50% on a
Sittercity Premium membership.

Register now